3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Reply
Old 07-20-2009, 10:54 AM
  #2201
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I had a saito 100 and it balanced easily with the battery in the last 1/3rd of the plane
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 03:33 AM
  #2202
redblur
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: JKT, INDONESIA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Ok thx for your advice
redblur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 06:01 PM
  #2203
gkm41
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: YorktonSask., CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

flew mine on a OS 91 FS, had fantastic vertical and a beautiful flying plane till today.... when flying low and inverted passes, try not to touch the ground... ha ha... tore the Rudder and fin right off it... got it up and almost turned over but it contacted the ground, so now is time to rebuild the fuse... anyways, I did do an interesting mod on my last year, I cut off the area in front of the canopy and glued it to the front hatch, made a canopy frame and all is removed with 2 4/40 screws at the rear of the canopy, made it so much easier to install the wing bolts... but now if I can only locate a wing tube I'll be happy....
gkm41 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 05:59 PM
  #2204
ro347
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Could we see a pic of the mod?
ro347 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 05:21 PM
  #2205
huminski
 
huminski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Is this plane still available anywhere? I would like to order another one but can't find it for sale anywhere......
huminski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 05:31 PM
  #2206
ohnoucdat
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , NC
Posts: 442
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

huminski

There was one for sale here just last week, not sure if it's still avalible.
ohnoucdat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 05:43 PM
  #2207
notruthless
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: huminski

Is this plane still available anywhere? I would like to order another one but can't find it for sale anywhere......

Try Advantage Hobby. They are showing currently in stock.
[link]http://www.advantagehobby.com/product.php?productid=102054&cat=157[/link]

Good luck!
Chris
notruthless is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 08:09 PM
  #2208
kgeb
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cayuga, IN
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I am putting together a 330 freestyle that I just purchased from Advantage hobby. I am using a saito 91 for power and spektrum ds821 servo throughout. Do I need to use the cheesy elevator stock setup or mount 2 servos at the rear of the fuse? I want to 3d this plane so the cg will be back. What about the pull pull rudder, use it or a single servo under the rear of the tail? I will be running a 6V NiCd battery pack. Any advise will be great!
kgeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 09:03 PM
  #2209
ohnoucdat
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , NC
Posts: 442
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

kgeb
I have the Fliton Edge, I moved servo's for ele. to the tail, I've got 2- 225mg bk there, and pull-pull on rudder-3305 for it. Saito 100 hanging off the front, and 2300 6V battery right under wing tube, no added weight.
ohnoucdat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 09:25 PM
  #2210
victorzamora
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,731
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I'd recommend the rudder servo in the fuselage and two servos in the tail for the elevator.
victorzamora is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 09:32 PM
  #2211
kgeb
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cayuga, IN
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Did you use the stock pull pull rudder hardware?
How close to the tail did you mount the elevator servos? Also how did you reinforce the fuse where you cut out for the servos? Did you beef up the landing gear area?
kgeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 09:40 PM
  #2212
ohnoucdat
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , NC
Posts: 442
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

No can't remember what I used actually, but it wasn't the stuff that came with plane. I threw out most all the hardware, some of it was very questionable to say the least. I have the servos about an inch in front of tail. Pm me with addy and I'll send you pics of set up if you like
ohnoucdat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 09:45 PM
  #2213
kgeb
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cayuga, IN
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Any other mods you would do, now that you have flown it for a while?
kgeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 10:29 PM
  #2214
ohnoucdat
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , NC
Posts: 442
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

here ya go, hope this helps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt56030.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	1335323   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35203.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	119.8 KB
ID:	1335324  
ohnoucdat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 10:02 AM
  #2215
kgeb
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cayuga, IN
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

How did you mount your canopy? Looks like the instructions suggest gluing it. Sure would be hard to work on the rudder servo! Any pictures of a removable canopy would be great.
kgeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 10:58 AM
  #2216
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I put some screws with self made silicone washers on it. 3 on each side.
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:04 AM
  #2217
kgeb
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cayuga, IN
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I know they made the canopy this way to save weight, but is that a cheesy thing or what?. Did you dye or paint the canopy first?
kgeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:52 AM
  #2218
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

no, I liked it clear, but yeah, that's cheesey. some guys made their own canopy hatch combo. You can find it I think in this thread. Another guy had put some silicone glue in the front end of the canopy securing it down, and letting it cure, so that it formed a rubberized front end. Said it helped it stay more flush.

I found the screws to be enough.
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:57 AM
  #2219
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

no, I liked it clear, but yeah, that's cheesey. some guys made their own canopy hatch combo. You can find it I think in this thread. Another guy had put some silicone glue in the front end of the canopy securing it down, and letting it cure, so that it formed a rubberized front end. Said it helped it stay more flush.

I found the screws to be enough.
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 02:13 PM
  #2220
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

stupid timeouts
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 02:22 PM
  #2221
victorzamora
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,731
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Those are my favorites!! I wish RCU would just disable that feature.
victorzamora is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 09:45 PM
  #2222
kgeb
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cayuga, IN
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

with the saito 91 and ds821 servos through out looks like 6lb 15 oz all up weight Thats about a lbs more than advertised weight Anyone else know there all up weight? What is a good CG to start with, book says 4.8-5.1"?
kgeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 11:31 PM
  #2223
trpastor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

WHOA! That's way too much. I don't know what could have happened to the plane, but mine was 5 15 with no spinner, but everything else.

What kind of battery etc etc are you using? Is your tank full?
trpastor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 07:15 AM
  #2224
kgeb
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: cayuga, IN
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

I am running a 5 cell NiCd batt., alum spinner, and test weight was with (2) ds821s in the back for the elevator du-bro pull-pull rudder linkage, du-bro 10 oz fuel tank and a apc 15x4w prop. I am going to try a 1800ma 2s lipo and regulator, (2) hs-5085s in the tail and a plastic spinner. That may get me about 4-5oz off. I have some carbon fiber control rod, but all the rods are so short, i don't think it would be worth the effort I did fuel coat most of the plane, but that was only 1 oz epoxy and 1 oz alcohol and i am sure all the alcohol evaporated.
I know I am at the large end of the engine scale, so I didnt expect the advertised 93 oz but a lbs over does seem to be a bit much.
kgeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 05:12 PM
  #2225
Wowbagger
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Flytown, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 199
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fliton Extra 330 Freestyle Who's Got One?

Mine's 6 1/4 lbs with a Saito 100. I use only one elevator servo - I made a staple to join the elevator halves - and a standard size 4 cell 2000mah NiMH. It has no repairs and no additions.
Wowbagger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:22 PM.