3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Great Planes Reactor 160?

Reply
Old 11-16-2008, 08:47 AM
  #226
Anders/Helene
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 5232 Bergen, NORWAY
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

Hi there,

I will use a DL-50 in my Reactor. The throttle horn on the carb seems to be in an acward starting position. Is there a way to set the starting position (closed) where I want it. I want the horn to point in the opposite direction of the choke horn. Any ideas?
Anders/Helene is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 10:11 AM
  #227
go vertical
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: mt.pleasant, PA
Posts: 501
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

vacaman
you are 300 more rpm than my brison if you are useing a 22x8 on a new engine that is very good mine is well broken in i have used it on 3 other planes i am thinking of geting a pipe setup for my engine but it may not be needed on this plane I have unlimeted vert/with the set up now how is your speed with this set up
go vertical is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 11:35 AM
  #228
Vacaman
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

The prop is a menz 22x10. It should improve a little after break inn. Some people gets 7.400 on theirs DA with a pipe setup.
Don´t know about the DL carb horn.
Vacaman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 10:44 PM
  #229
stealdesk
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 81
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

I like the way the pipe looks I bet it sounds great too.
stealdesk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 02:21 PM
  #230
Vacaman
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

Thanks stealdesk. The sound is low compared to a pitts muffler, I really like it.
Well, today I had 5 decent flights. I spend all morning guessing why the engine didn´t accelerate more than 1/2 throttle, and after taking the carb off, cheking the batt, and almost dismounted the pipe, I found that the sensor connector has crossed.[:@]
The carb plate worked good, no perfect, but good enough.
I found that the plane isn´t affected to much, by the wing when flying fast. I think it will be a great practice plane for pattern flying without spending a lot of money on glow fuel. That was my goal. Here we don´t follow all the rules, so I even can compete with the reactor. It performed very well rolling maneuvers (my favorites) with great power on uplines. I have to make some programing on the radio, but in general this is plane flights very straigth without any mix.
Again I didnt do much 3d, only some inverted and upright harriers, and couple of rolling kind harriers, and a couple of short hovers. The pull out from the hover was good, not rocket like, but good. This can be improved with a 23x8 prop, but I am good for now.
I think It needs more tail weight for better 3d flying. It was windy today, so that affected also.
In general I am more than happy and I have a big simle becouse of the Reactor. It really makes things easier compared to my 30% yak, and with a little more work it should improve more.
Vacaman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:00 PM
  #231
stealdesk
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 81
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

I think it does need more in the tail. I have done all I can to get as much twards the back. So now I will have to add lead to it.
stealdesk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 11:25 PM
  #232
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

THis plane looks alright, but when comparing a QQ yak 54 50cc plane (on sale right now for 499.99) and the reactor for 430.00

I would have to pass.....and go for the qq yak...

Issue is that I was looking for a aircraft like this one that would work well with a sub 50cc like my zdz40 (lightened model f3A)...

I have a 50cc DA but it is is a tf giant p-51.... so that won't work....

guess I could just pick up a China 50cc and the qq yak...??

I guess GP sweetens the deal by offering 60$ off but still not the same amount that qq does...
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 12:22 AM
  #233
Barry Cazier
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

That is a stunning price on probably the best built Yak in the industry. I have one and thought it was a good buy at $650. It is truly a great flying airplane. I have more flights on my QQ than any plane I've owned. It's great.
But the Reactor is gonna be a different style plane. Probably more "fun to fly". At least that's what I'm hoping for. Maybe more UCD like. It has more wing area than any 50CC plane out there and the weight will be lighter than most. Buy at least 1/2lbs. More for EF and Aeroworks and Wildhare. My guess it will Blender great and do excelent waterfalls, flat spins etc. We'll see how it does in KE and Harrier. For my high elevation I think the wing area will be great and I've got a carbon fiber wing tube for mine that will lighten it by over 1/2lbs. So....I should be right at 15 1/2lbs which will be great. Lots of power, more wing area than anybody else, light weight, excellent design.....I think I'm gonna love the Reactor...at least on paper. And the quality of this bird is very VERY good. Hardware won't be as good as QQ but everything else looks about the same to me. The landing gear is probably better because it's bad on the QQ.

Thanks
Barry

Barry Cazier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 02:16 AM
  #234
go vertical
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: mt.pleasant, PA
Posts: 501
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

kochj- your math confuses me your logic also, comparing a QQ yak to the reactor they are 2 different stile planes
barry- you will find that the reactor will fly more like a big U can do it is just FUN you will enjoy it
go vertical is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:21 AM
  #235
Toucan4
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Delhi , INDIA
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

I am surprised by the Great Planes reply to the Crushed Fuse I have received. Have a look:[:@]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11037.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	1074882   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql33070.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	1074883   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dj11816.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	1074884   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dx66920.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	50.5 KB
ID:	1074885   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uf50806.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	1074886   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx70835.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	1074887   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kf13492.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	43.1 KB
ID:	1074888   Click image for larger version

Name:	In25889.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	1074889  

Toucan4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:24 AM
  #236
Toucan4
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Delhi , INDIA
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

Their reply is that I send the Fuse from India to them for having a look which is gonna cost me atleast 500 - 600 USD. When I send them pics their reply is . that the box is damaged. Their is no damage to the outer carton or the inner box. This damage is from Chinese manufacturer and they want to put it on to me. Why the hell should I buy a new fuse?[:@]
Toucan4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:25 AM
  #237
Barry-RCU
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 178
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

What was the response? Whatever the response it seems that any beef would be with the shipper not GP.
Barry-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:30 AM
  #238
Toucan4
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Delhi , INDIA
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

Had it been shipper the box would have been crushed also from the outside. More over the wings and the cowl are the first ones to get damaged. I blame it to the manufacturer of GP in China and no one else..
Toucan4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:35 AM
  #239
chuck l
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 1,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kochj

THis plane looks alright, but when comparing a QQ yak 54 50cc plane (on sale right now for 499.99) and the reactor for 430.00

I would have to pass.....and go for the qq yak...

Issue is that I was looking for a aircraft like this one that would work well with a sub 50cc like my zdz40 (lightened model f3A)...

I have a 50cc DA but it is is a tf giant p-51.... so that won't work....

guess I could just pick up a China 50cc and the qq yak...??

I guess GP sweetens the deal by offering 60$ off but still not the same amount that qq does...
Who has it on sale for $499?
chuck l is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:45 AM
  #240
Vacaman
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

What a shame. They gave me the same response about my wing and cowl issue.
Making the story short, i fixed the wing myself.
They told you that the box is damged? Hey, my wing was warped no crushed or breaked, and the box or anything else was undamaged, and they response was the same. I tried to contact them again with no response.
Really a bad overseas support. Maybe you can contact the currier and see if they assume the shipping cost.
Looking at the pics, on the first the box seems fine, but on the others it appear to be crushed.
Hope you can work it up.
This plane really flights great.
Vacaman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 10:27 AM
  #241
go vertical
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: mt.pleasant, PA
Posts: 501
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

wow: you guys in other countrys that don't have distributers in your home country really have service problems. i hope you don't give up on this plane [IT IS A VERY GOOD FLYING PLANE]
go vertical is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 12:02 PM
  #242
Toucan4
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Delhi , INDIA
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

Its a good airplane thats why I bought it. I paid almost 800 USD for this one including shipping and customs to my country and after all of it I get this hard luck for me.

Sharad
Toucan4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 01:24 PM
  #243
stealdesk
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 81
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

That looks like shipping damage. I hope you had it insured by the shipper to file a claim. The box looks like it fell hard on one end to do that kind of damage. I do see this alot at the hobby shop I work at here in Arlington Tx. I think UPS like to smash large boxes to a smaller size to fit more on the truck.
stealdesk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 01:47 PM
  #244
go vertical
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: mt.pleasant, PA
Posts: 501
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

when I got mine it had a whole in the box but what made it missed the contents I was lucky
go vertical is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 04:04 PM
  #245
mustang11
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belvidere, IL
Posts: 100
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

Barry,
where did you get a 22 mm CF tube? I've been looking and can't find anything close......... Larry V.
mustang11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 05:15 PM
  #246
Barry Cazier
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Barry Cazier

I dry fit the TBM wing tube. It's tight, quite tight, but goes in with some twisting. It is what I'd call a perfect fit. Very snug. I put it into both wings and through the fuse and it seems to be fine. I'm sure it will loosen with some time but didnt' require any sanding or ? to get it to go in. Not even any cuss words. I'm gonna say this is the right wing tube.

I haven't cut it to length yet but the whole 30" tube weighs 2.4 ozs. I'm gonna save 9.8ozs or so. I laid the TBM tube accross two tables and put some serious weight on it and no bending or breaking. It will be plenty strong to support whatever this plane will give.

I can say it will be a good option, but I have yet to fly it, but it is strong.

Thanks
Barry\
mustang11...I actually ordered a 7/8" tube from TBM. Here's there website http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/newsi...wingtubes.html You can read above how it fit. It's very snug but works just fine. It is also very light.
thanks
Barry
Barry Cazier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 05:22 PM
  #247
Barry Cazier
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: chuck l


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kochj

THis plane looks alright, but when comparing a QQ yak 54 50cc plane (on sale right now for 499.99) and the reactor for 430.00

I would have to pass.....and go for the qq yak...

Issue is that I was looking for a aircraft like this one that would work well with a sub 50cc like my zdz40 (lightened model f3A)...

I have a 50cc DA but it is is a tf giant p-51.... so that won't work....

guess I could just pick up a China 50cc and the qq yak...??

I guess GP sweetens the deal by offering 60$ off but still not the same amount that qq does...
Who has it on sale for $499?
Chuck 1...

QQ has them on sale direct from his website http://www.qqaircraft.com/planes.asp...&s_PLANE_CAT=d
That would certainly be a great buy for a QQ Yak.
Thanks
Barry

Barry Cazier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 11:36 AM
  #248
Toucan4
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Delhi , INDIA
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

See these pics. Its the hardware pack which has damaged the Fuselage which was flying around in the box and they are blaming the shipper not their supplier.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki18203.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	1075582   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fa86473.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	40.3 KB
ID:	1075583   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ns45684.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	1075584   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cw64380.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	1075585  
Toucan4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 12:05 PM
  #249
KCJarman
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

At the very least, they should be sending you a new FUSE!!!!
KCJarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 03:39 PM
  #250
mustang11
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belvidere, IL
Posts: 100
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

Barry,
How did I miss that post Thanks for the information on the TBM wing tubes. Larry V.
mustang11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:25 AM.