3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Reply
Old 06-08-2007, 03:19 PM
  #6026
rtn9105
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

gregziemba, I have the Saito 100 on my DO and I used the mount that came with the plane. One of the socket head bolts that hold the mount to the firewall needs to be changed to a phillips head bolt so the carb doesn't hit the bolt head.

zoott, you can to look through this thread to get all the info you need about how to do all the mods to the plane. Unless you can land this plane softer than most every other person who's ever flown it and do that every single time you put it in the air, you HAVE to reinforce the landing gear mount or you'll tear it out sooner or later. There are some real good pictures of how to do this very easy mod earlier in the thread. You'll want to beef up the push rods, the 2-56 rods flex way to much and you will get flutter if you use them. I've used 4-40 rods and carbon fiber rods and they both worked very well. I've broke the CA hinges on all the control surfaces so I'd suggest upgrading to something better than the CA hinges (I use Robart hinge points but that's just my preference). As for the tail wheel, it's your choice. I'm on my second DO, on my first one I used the stock tail wheel system and I did break the rudder CA hinges but after I put Robarts in the rudder I had no more damage. On my second DO I thought the same as patnjimtucker and used a Sullivan tail wheel which works great but instead of breaking the rudder hinges I've broke the tail wheel mount right off the plane, the bad part is that the mount broke off along with about an inch of wood off the bottom of the fuse so it's a toss up but if I had it to do over I think I'd use the stock system and stronger hinges.
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 04:19 PM
  #6027
zoott
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: new ipswich, NH
Posts: 164
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks for the tips. I dont mean to be lazy I just dont have the time to page thru this one. I will try some searches though. Where is a good place to get the horns and cf rods?
zoott is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:01 PM
  #6028
AKFireMedic
 
AKFireMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Zoot, I'll be using the stock horns and using CF tube to sleeve the stock 2-56 rods. Others have done this with good success.
AKFireMedic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 08:15 PM
  #6029
dr_d_2k
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Got to Do it today after a month of 'no fly'. Feel much better now.

I changed to an APC 13x4w down from a 14x4w and the OS 70 Surpass II seems much happier. Climb out seemed the same, definitely not a rocket but OK. Throttle response is much better in hovers with the smaller prop. I haven't tached it yet. Maybe tomorrow.
dr_d_2k is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 08:16 PM
  #6030
zoott
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: new ipswich, NH
Posts: 164
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Where is a good place to get the cf rods online?
zoott is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 10:40 PM
  #6031
Barry Cazier
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Best place to get carbon fiber pushrod kits is from Central Hobbies.

Thanks
Barry
Barry Cazier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 11:30 PM
  #6032
rtn9105
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I'm got my CF pushrods from Abell manufacturing; the metal ends go over the carbon rods to prevent them from splitting.
http://www.abellrc.com/abellrchome.html

Here are the ones from Central Hobbies
http://centralhobbies.com/control_linkage/pushrod.html

These are the Dubro adjustable control horns that I'm using.
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXEMF9&P=ML

Picture of the central hobbies rods on page 231 post #5751
Picture of some home built CF rods with 4-40 all thread ends on page 226 post #5643
Picture of the landing gear block mod on page 225 post #5620 and page 222 post #5547
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 08:39 AM
  #6033
rclement
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Wow! Those rod ends from Abellrc look great. I like em'. I have been just making my own out of CF rods from the LHS and Tower. They probably don't look as good as some but work good and are cheaper to make. Here's some from Tower hobbies. [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXJDP8&P=M]CF rod[/link] The first pic is the ones from Abellrc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu60689.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	700404   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ro41590.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	101.9 KB
ID:	700405  
rclement is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 09:09 AM
  #6034
rtn9105
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

The Abell ends are pretty nice but spendy. I had picked a set up and then didn't end up doing the plane I bought them for so that's why I put them on my DO. I think your right, your home built rods work just as good and save a bunch of $. I'm planning to try to build a set myself for one of my profile planes using the method of aluminum tubing to keep the CF from splitting. What do you use to glue the all thread into the CF tube?
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 02:02 PM
  #6035
rclement
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rtn9105

What do you use to glue the all thread into the CF tube?
I use JB Weld. I assemble them and turn the oven on the low setting. (170) Then I bake them about 15 mins and it dries the JB Weld.
rclement is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 02:52 PM
  #6036
rtn9105
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

JBWeld is what is used to assemble the Abell rods also and I like the idea of putting them in the oven to dry the JBWeld but I don't think there's anyway to do it with the Abell rods. The air that gets trapped inside the rod after you put the JBWeld and ends on always tries to push the ends back apart so you have to use some tape to hold everything together while the glue dries so I don't think you could put them in the oven. But I'll give it a try on the homemade set I build.
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 09:43 PM
  #6037
gregziemba
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I was woundering if you guys upgraded to a bigger fuel tank. Im going to be putting a saito 100 so i dont think the stock one will be big enough. I couldnt even get the stock one in with out taking out wood. oh yah what would you guys say for flight time on the stock fuel tank.
gregziemba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 11:57 PM
  #6038
Barry Cazier
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I use the stock tank in all my 46s. I use the 82 engine. I can get 13 minute flight times with an ounce or two to spare. You don't want to fly around looking for a place to land. Buzzer goes off at 13 minutes and you land.

I'm not sure the 100 uses any more fuel because you're always only using the bottom end of the power band. I think most are using the stock tank. You'll want to make sure you fully lean down the bottom end on the 100. They come very VERY rich. After a modest break in you can lean it down a lot. That will help greatly with the fuel mileage.

Thanks
Barry
Barry Cazier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 07:29 AM
  #6039
rclement
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I think Barry has some good points about the fuel usage with the 100. You may find that the 100 doesn't use too much since it has more power and your throttle settings will be lower. I'm planning to change my tank. ( I just broke my fuse and need to transfer everything to the new one) Here's a Sullivan tank that I have found to fit in the fuse. I'm still working with it though and don't have it installed yet. I'll let you know. [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXFU64&P=7]Sullivan tank[/link] The second one is supposed to fit too but I haven't tried it. [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXFU45&P=7]tank 2[/link]
rclement is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 03:34 PM
  #6040
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: gregziemba

I was woundering if you guys upgraded to a bigger fuel tank. Im going to be putting a saito 100 so i dont think the stock one will be big enough. I couldnt even get the stock one in with out taking out wood. oh yah what would you guys say for flight time on the stock fuel tank.

Greg, Barry and Rob are both right, i use the stock tank in mine with the 100 and i fly 10 min and still have a half tank left but you have to have the 100 tuned right or it will never last long enough. lean down the low end
gjeffers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 05:56 PM
  #6041
gregziemba
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

what do you mean will not last long? the flight time or the engine
gregziemba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 07:42 PM
  #6042
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

well if its too rich the flight time will not last long if its too rich your engine will last forever(but not much fun[])
gjeffers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 07:34 AM
  #6043
rclement
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

anyone still flying their Do? It's aweful quiet around here.
rclement is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 07:36 AM
  #6044
gregziemba
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

i am i love mine!!!
gregziemba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 11:15 AM
  #6045
rclement
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I just started using 25% nitro in my Do just yesterday. I've had some (25%) that I got at a real decent price a while back and just now got around to using it. WoW! I like it. It's definately a noticable difference. I'm going to use it all the time now. [8D]
rclement is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007, 03:33 PM
  #6046
AKFireMedic
 
AKFireMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

What is everyone ending up with for a CG on this plane? I have read everything from 4.5 to 6.5 inches? Mine will have the Saito .82 up front. I want to go back but just not so far that the tail whips around like a flag in the air! Thanks all.
JAY
AKFireMedic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007, 05:03 PM
  #6047
Barry Cazier
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I fly my 46 at 5 3/4" for the CG. I like it there and it's still very easy to control. My 60 I take all the way to 6". Still easy to fly there and yet makes it 3D better.

Thanks
Barry
Barry Cazier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 05:32 AM
  #6048
AKFireMedic
 
AKFireMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks Barry! I am actually putting this thing together now after having it and all of the parts for the better part of a year! So far so good. I was a bit disappointed to find that one side of my fuse was crushed and I spent the morning peeling the covering back, fixing it, and patching it when I wanted to be assembling the plane! Oh well, it beats sending it back to Great Planes and waiting weeks for a new one to get back to me. I also noticed that the wing hold down and the firewall gussets need some more epoxy to be stuck as good as I would like them to be. I'm hoping to have this thing in the air Monday evening. We'll see.
AKFireMedic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 07:59 AM
  #6049
rclement
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Mine had a crushed leading edge when it came from Tower. I didn't want to wait to get a new one so I just fixed it myself too. You'll have lots of fun with it when you finally get to fly it. [8D]
rclement is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2007, 09:24 PM
  #6050
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hi guys, man have i been busy with the new job and moving (again[:@]) bought a house here so i guess ill be stayiny here for a while
found a guy here in round mtn that wanted to learn to fly so i sold my 46 to him and am taking him out tomorrow to teach him to fly[X(], hope all turns out well, he saw me fly it and had to have it so now ill have to fly one of my other four for awhile. another guy i work with that came up from Az flys also so i now have some fellow pilots to fly with at least[8D]
will try to do a better job keeping up with the thread now that things are settling down a bit.

i like my cg between 5.25 and 5.5in....this plane flys well just about anywhere
gjeffers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:08 AM.