3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Reply
Old 09-03-2009, 10:56 PM
  #51
rhd-RCU
 
rhd-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: burlington, WI
Posts: 713
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I y'd the top and bottom right side in the ail channel. The other two went into aux 1. It gives you a normal flaperon system with an extra wing.
rhd-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 11:03 PM
  #52
jpjamie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Quote:
ORIGINAL: rhd-RCU

I y'd the top and bottom right side in the ail channel. The other two went into aux 1. It gives you a normal flaperon system with an extra wing.
Thanks for this! I figured there was more than one way to do this setup. I'm currently flying a single wing aircraft with the same setup and having fun with the flaperons, so will just "Y" this bipe like you suggest.
jpjamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 07:27 PM
  #53
nmking09
 
nmking09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Niceville , FL
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

The engine mount patten will be the same as the UCD 60. GP hasn't changed their mounts in forever.
nmking09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 08:33 PM
  #54
jpjamie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Quote:
ORIGINAL: nmking09

The engine mount patten will be the same as the UCD 60. GP hasn't changed their mounts in forever.

Thanks nmking09! Great information!
Retooling engine mount patterns these days doesn't make cents...but "UCD" makes more sense than typing out U-Can-Do!
jpjamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 08:52 PM
  #55
jpjamie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: 150flyer

Built mine last week and have about eight flights so far. I agree the roll rate it super-charged (about four rolls per second on high rate). There is a huge range for the recommended CG. Right now, I am in the middle of the range and the plane handles much better than my original full forward range. I will continue to shift the CG aft until I no longer care for the flight characteristics.

The engine is an OS .75 AX. It has great vertical and pulls out of a hoover easily. I still have a few more flights before I lean the engine for full power but for now I'm extremely happy with this engine for this plane.

The other Reactor in the picture with two is a friends who mounted a Zenoa G20 with a 17 inch prop. It flys a little heavier but has impressive speed and vertical climb-out.
150flyer
I flew an aircraft today with a buddies OS .75 AX and was impressed with the power! I like the way you side mount it with the muffler on the bottom spewing the exhaust "mess" on the underside. I've got an OS .91 four stroke, which (according to a posting here) will bolt (mount + engine) right on this bipe's firewall after removing it from my U-Can-Do, but appreciate the "simplicity" of 2 strokin even tho it's a bit messier.
jpjamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 08:30 PM
  #56
150flyer
 
150flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Haslet, TX
Posts: 276
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

The .75 AX is run-in and at full power. I have two props I really like to use. The APC 14 x 6 is great for speed and general fun flying. The APC 16 x 4w is great for hoovering and extreme 3D.

I could not fly the plane last week because of an unusual mechanical problem. While rolling at full speed with full aileron throw, the centifugal force on the fuel tank was enough to snap the rubber band mount and fling it out the removeable hatch. I was able to make a normal landing (dead stick), but had to order a new hatch. The fuel tang was still dangling to the plane with fuel tubing.
150flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 05:20 PM
  #57
sekkenes
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: arendal, NORWAY
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

150flyer,
I can see you are using a mufler adapter for 75AX. Can you please tell me the part number or specs on that one?

Regards, Yngve
sekkenes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 04:40 PM
  #58
jpjamie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: 150flyer

The .75 AX is run-in and at full power. I have two props I really like to use. The APC 14 x 6 is great for speed and general fun flying. The APC 16 x 4w is great for hoovering and extreme 3D.

I could not fly the plane last week because of an unusual mechanical problem. While rolling at full speed with full aileron throw, the centifugal force on the fuel tank was enough to snap the rubber band mount and fling it out the removeable hatch. I was able to make a normal landing (dead stick), but had to order a new hatch. The fuel tang was still dangling to the plane with fuel tubing.
OK but were you rolling LEFT or RIGHT! Just having fun! Thanks 150flyer for this interesting information.
jpjamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 07:18 AM
  #59
150flyer
 
150flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Haslet, TX
Posts: 276
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: sekkenes

150flyer,
I can see you are using a mufler adapter for 75AX. Can you please tell me the part number or specs on that one?

Regards, Yngve
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXARP9&P=0
150flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 08:04 AM
  #60
sekkenes
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: arendal, NORWAY
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Thanks, 150flyer. Ordered just now.
sekkenes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 11:09 PM
  #61
jpjamie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

This bipe has 8 4-40 x 3/8" Philips screws that screw into 8 blind nuts, 4 per strut. There's also a nylon bolt on the top wing to the center pylon as well as 2 nylon bolts on the bottom wing. The instructions strongly suggest using locktite(sp) on the Philips screws (strut fasteners) before every flight. This is lame, but how long does this take to do? I may need to do at least half of these at the flying field because my vehicle is not wide enough for the wingspan. Also, has anyone thought of using another way to fasten the the struts to the wings, like pins with (cotter) retainers? Using pins with retainers would avoid the nightmare of strut screws loosening and messy locktite. Engineers probably thought pins would not provide as "tight" a fit for the struts, but it can be done. I know details, but often the source of problems is a lack of attention to details.
jpjamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 12:25 AM
  #62
150flyer
 
150flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Haslet, TX
Posts: 276
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

You could try longer screws that would come far enough through the blind nuts to be able to put an extra nut to act as a locknut.
150flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 03:42 PM
  #63
Jason 3-Danhakl
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jpjamie

This bipe has 8 4-40 x 3/8'' Philips screws that screw into 8 blind nuts, 4 per strut. There's also a nylon bolt on the top wing to the center pylon as well as 2 nylon bolts on the bottom wing. The instructions strongly suggest using locktite(sp) on the Philips screws (strut fasteners) before every flight. This is lame, but how long does this take to do? I may need to do at least half of these at the flying field because my vehicle is not wide enough for the wingspan. Also, has anyone thought of using another way to fasten the the struts to the wings, like pins with (cotter) retainers? Using pins with retainers would avoid the nightmare of strut screws loosening and messy locktite. Engineers probably thought pins would not provide as ''tight'' a fit for the struts, but it can be done. I know details, but often the source of problems is a lack of attention to details.
I have been using the stock provided screws. But I don't have to take the airplane apart to get into the vehicle. If I did have to take it apart this would be the solution.
Get SHCS and pitch the phillips screws. If you use a flat washer and lock washer on the interplane strut bolts thread locker is not needed. More than likely you can leave the struts on the bottom wing while transporting.
The airplane assembles fairly fast once you have done it a few times.
Jason
Jason 3-Danhakl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 10:47 PM
  #64
jpjamie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Jason 3-Danhakl


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jpjamie

This bipe has 8 4-40 x 3/8'' Philips screws that screw into 8 blind nuts, 4 per strut. There's also a nylon bolt on the top wing to the center pylon as well as 2 nylon bolts on the bottom wing. The instructions strongly suggest using locktite(sp) on the Philips screws (strut fasteners) before every flight. This is lame, but how long does this take to do? I may need to do at least half of these at the flying field because my vehicle is not wide enough for the wingspan. Also, has anyone thought of using another way to fasten the the struts to the wings, like pins with (cotter) retainers? Using pins with retainers would avoid the nightmare of strut screws loosening and messy locktite. Engineers probably thought pins would not provide as ''tight'' a fit for the struts, but it can be done. I know details, but often the source of problems is a lack of attention to details.
I have been using the stock provided screws. But I don't have to take the airplane apart to get into the vehicle. If I did have to take it apart this would be the solution.
Get SHCS and pitch the phillips screws. If you use a flat washer and lock washer on the interplane strut bolts thread locker is not needed. More than likely you can leave the struts on the bottom wing while transporting.
The airplane assembles fairly fast once you have done it a few times.
Jason
Thanks for this!

jpjamie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 09:41 PM
  #65
JoeyCoates
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Hey guys, have a YS91ac that is looking for a home. How would this engine power the Reactor Bipe? I have the normal Reactor with a 55ax and it has great power, I do not need rocketship action, but I do want a strong pullout. Thanks
JoeyCoates is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 10:19 PM
  #66
rhd-RCU
 
rhd-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: burlington, WI
Posts: 713
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

VERY GOOD CHOICE.
rhd-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 12:54 PM
  #67
Jason 3-Danhakl
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: JoeyCoates

Hey guys, have a YS91ac that is looking for a home. How would this engine power the Reactor Bipe? I have the normal Reactor with a 55ax and it has great power, I do not need rocketship action, but I do want a strong pullout. Thanks
Mine has a .91 OS Surpass with a 14x6. It has strong pull out but not rocket. I have no doubt the YS91ac will have plenty of power.
Jason 3-Danhakl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 11:44 PM
  #68
malcolmm
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I'm just finishing up my Reactor bipe, using the recommended Rimfire .80 and 3300 6S lipo.

The manual doesn't give much information on servo extensions to the wings. I plan to use the 2 into 1 servo connectors. I will have to remove the wings to transport the plane. Has anyone done a similar setup - what servo extensions should I buy?

Since I have to take take the wings off, I am guessing I will need a servo connector where the servo wire exit the top wing, to plug into something coming up through the fiberglass wing brace. I would guess this would mean a 12" from each top aileron servo, then another 12" from each of these, they would then plug into the 2 into 1.

Ideally I would obviously like to use a single 18" or 24" into the 2 into one. However, threading these servo wires down the brace and past the plywood battery tray would seem to be very difficult at the field.

malcolmm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 12:39 PM
  #69
frankeldan
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Shelton, CT
Posts: 521
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: malcolmm

I'm just finishing up my Reactor bipe, using the recommended Rimfire .80 and 3300 6S lipo.

The manual doesn't give much information on servo extensions to the wings. I plan to use the 2 into 1 servo connectors. I will have to remove the wings to transport the plane. Has anyone done a similar setup - what servo extensions should I buy?

Since I have to take take the wings off, I am guessing I will need a servo connector where the servo wire exit the top wing, to plug into something coming up through the fiberglass wing brace. I would guess this would mean a 12'' from each top aileron servo, then another 12'' from each of these, they would then plug into the 2 into 1.

Ideally I would obviously like to use a single 18'' or 24'' into the 2 into one. However, threading these servo wires down the brace and past the plywood battery tray would seem to be very difficult at the field.

Did you finish your's yet? I'm interested to know how it performs with the Rimfire.80. I have a Saito FA-100 for mine but haven't installed it as yet. Still deciding if I should go electric with this project.

Later,

Dan
frankeldan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 06:33 PM
  #70
captainpitts-RCU
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: fairmont, WV
Posts: 153
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Ok guys gotta ask. I have a 100 2 stroke sitting here do ya think its too much?
captainpitts-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 07:52 PM
  #71
steinywi
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Any thoughts on the FG-14cc Saito.
Plane is built and ready to go just needs motor looking for a gasser!
steinywi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 08:28 PM
  #72
Bdegan
 
Bdegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Newmarket, ON, CANADA
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Just bought this plane [8D]
I have all the servos and radio gear. I will be ordering the motor and ESC this week as I plan to do it up electric.
This is going to be my winter plane. I will also be leaving it in one piece for transport. That way on the cooler days or days just needing a quick fix. Throw it into one of the vehicles show up at the field pop in a battery, beat the plane silly. Throw it back into the car with no mess to clean...and another addict has his fix
I am ordering a lower kv motor than the rimfire 80. I will be using 6 cell on it. i have a whole bunch of 6 cell packs from my other plane that won't be used during the winter. It is the Giant Reactor with a hacker A60 setup. Great Big Foamie [>:]
Bdegan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:13 AM
  #73
wind junkie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,634
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Bdegan

Just bought this plane [8D]
I have all the servos and radio gear. I will be ordering the motor and ESC this week as I plan to do it up electric.
This is going to be my winter plane. I will also be leaving it in one piece for transport. That way on the cooler days or days just needing a quick fix. Throw it into one of the vehicles show up at the field pop in a battery, beat the plane silly. Throw it back into the car with no mess to clean...and another addict has his fix
I am ordering a lower kv motor than the rimfire 80. I will be using 6 cell on it. i have a whole bunch of 6 cell packs from my other plane that won't be used during the winter. It is the Giant Reactor with a hacker A60 setup. Great Big Foamie [>:]
Wow, I really like your thinking Bdegan. I have some 5S and 6S 5000 packs that won't get used this winter otherwise, so this could be a great excuse for me also. I recently checked the fit of the fully assembled plane into my ponticac grand am and it fits easily with the rear seat folded down.

Which motor wind are you getting and from where (also which prop?) I just visited the NeSail site and all options seem to require 10S:

http://www.nesail.com/detail.php?productID=4886

Have you used (or seen) your intended power combo used on an 8 lb 3D plane before? I was thinking of outfitting an OMP Fusion with electric power for the winter months, but that plane has considerable field assembly and the one piece nature of this plane is a very attractive option. Using magnets for the battery hatch will really simplify cold weather field access also.

Also, I"m curious will you be using skis or do you have access to a plowed/paved runway? You get snow up there too, don't you? If this works out I would order an extra set of gear for mine and put wheel pants for mud flaps and then quick change to another set with skis when the snow comes.
wind junkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:39 AM
  #74
Bdegan
 
Bdegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Newmarket, ON, CANADA
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I plan to use this [link=http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbycity/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=7070]Motor[/link]
For a prop I am looking at something between 16x8 or 16x10. Maybe a 17x8.

We get snow [:'(]
I usually fly with skis, and a small ski on for the tail from a park flyer. Works fantstic.
Even if it is only a light dusting over the grass.
Bdegan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:02 AM
  #75
wind junkie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,634
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Ok, that's certainly cheap enough to experiment. I thought you were going with a Hacker (which is an awesome choice, but more expensive so it pays to know exactly what you're getting).

I don't have much experience in large(r) glow/electric conversions in this size range so I like to know the power and instant thrust available beforehand for this weight. One thing I did learn is that for 3D the thin electric props are often NOT a good choice cause they cavitate and/or twist when overloaded so they mostly just make noise when you punch them. That would be a new prop size for me too as I normally use a 6" pitch on my glo birds for 3D.

Keep us posted on your progress. I'll do the same if I can get my act together and finish some other projects now on the bench.
wind junkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:29 AM.