3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Reply
Old 12-04-2010, 09:00 PM
  #201
ameyam
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 2,224
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I have a 120AX as well but I think that will be too large. Otherwise I have a 75AX. Wasnt this airplane supposed to be 60 size?

Ameyam
ameyam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:32 AM
  #202
luckyflyer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 176
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Steinywi, how does your dle20 pull your reactor out from a hover?
luckyflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:18 AM
  #203
steinywi
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

like a rocket! it goes up and up and up! Little less than 8 pound plane with 14 pounds of thrust will be a great flyer, I just need some snow and it will be flying again! Seems like the Frozen Tundra is hard and very bumpy!
steinywi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:22 AM
  #204
luckyflyer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 176
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Cool, my ys 91ac is turning out to be a turd so I'm seriously considering the dle. Are you running just 1 battery pack for rx and ignition? Also did you need to put a hole in the firewall for the carb?
luckyflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:47 AM
  #205
steinywi
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

The carb sits over the old fuel tank hole, I moved the tank back and put ign box behind firewall. No I'm still on 72mhz so 2 batts is the way to go! 2 1500's = 4 flights before charge.
steinywi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 06:46 PM
  #206
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I thought the 1.20 sized engines would be too much as well, but if you compare another plane (sebart Misswind 50e)
The pattern guys are running 19inch PROPS on that plane!....They are electric but still....

This plane needs 1.25 4-stroke, or 2-stroke to have great aerobatic power....

Use servos that are good fro a 1.20 sized plane and use beefier control rods, arms and hardware...
The hardware is good for .46 size plans....

This is just what I would do....so do what you like....

I do wish this plane was abit bigger though....I would have purchased on already..
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:55 AM
  #207
livefast_livefun
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lundar, MB, CANADA
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe



I just received my new reactor bipe 61 and very pleased with the looks of the kit. Only one thing I found, they say you can use standard size servos in the rear for the elevator as well as rudder. So I cut the openings out only to find the standard one bottom out on the opposite side of the fuselage. My only way of thinking of resolving this is to build up a plate between the servo and fuselage, is this what ppl are doing? Thanks for any help

livefast_livefun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:47 AM
  #208
rhd-RCU
 
rhd-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: burlington, WI
Posts: 713
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Yes
rhd-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 11:10 AM
  #209
livefast_livefun
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lundar, MB, CANADA
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

k thanks thats what i will be doing. so looking forward to this spring to try this awsome looking plane out!!
livefast_livefun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 09:15 PM
  #210
wyo69cowboy
 
wyo69cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cody, WY
Posts: 757
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I used Hitec 225's for the elevators and a standard size for the rudder; had to use a 1/8" plywood spacer for the standard servo so it wouldn't "bottom out" like you said...
wyo69cowboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 09:32 AM
  #211
ameyam
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 2,224
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

This forum has been quiet for some time. I have already got a few replies on this but I am putting the discussion open to everyone- I am considering putting a DLE20 on the Reactor Bipe. I have already strengthened thje fuse section between the wings and am going to do the same for the LG section and block. I am open to other ideas and suggestions

Ameyam
ameyam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 09:55 AM
  #212
rhd-RCU
 
rhd-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: burlington, WI
Posts: 713
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I have an RCGF 20 on mine. All I did was stregthen the firewall area.
rhd-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:42 AM
  #213
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Hi guys....
I have finally got my reactor up and running (building that is)
I have the servos installed (I hate this part of the build)
Landing gear minum pants,the wings and elevators ....

All that is left to due is the motor, throttle servo. place electronics and battery...

I used all the the stock hardware ( I hope this will not bite me) but I didn't have
anything in this size to use, and I didn't want to spend 15-20$ on hardware....

The only thing noted was that my elevators don't want to match up there movements....
I had Hitech sevos in the tail, and these are shorter than the others...Futaba, MKS or others...so the only
servo hole that I had to add wood to lift it up was the MKS TI Rudder servo....

I can't tell if it is just me, or if something is warped, or perhaps I have the elevator not LEVEL....AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHGGGGGGGGGGGG G

I have been throwing around the engine choices as well....Gas/Glow....
I Think I may try to use this plane as a pattern setup, as the elevators and rudder, prevents huge 3D throws...
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:57 AM
  #214
steinywi
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

DLE-20 and it is a 3D monster!
steinywi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 05:26 PM
  #215
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I think I will stay with the Saito 125 for two reasons. Sound and down low grunt....this also keeps the speeds down and steady. The stock engine.mount doesn't seem up to challenge for a doe20cc.
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 07:24 PM
  #216
livefast_livefun
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lundar, MB, CANADA
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

hey does anybody have pics of the dle 20 mounted in the reactor? what engine mount are you guys using? thanks for your help.
livefast_livefun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:40 PM
  #217
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: livefast_livefun

hey does anybody have pics of the dle 20 mounted in the reactor? what engine mount are you guys using? thanks for your help.
There are picts on the previous page but as usuall...RCuni...is all messed up and doesn't show the pictures...
What a letdown....
RCuniverse is a mess .
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:58 AM
  #218
livefast_livefun
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lundar, MB, CANADA
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

Well kinda crappy they show the pics. i have bought a dle 20 and would love to see a few pics of what ppl are doing with the firewall carb clearence. as well as what mount they are using to keep vibration down. could someone email me some pics? thanks livefast_livefun@hotmail.com
livefast_livefun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:04 AM
  #219
livefast_livefun
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lundar, MB, CANADA
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I ment crappy they don`t show the pics
livefast_livefun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:22 AM
  #220
steinywi
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

All I have for Now
I did modify the the mount I was using for my Saito 91.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Om33227.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	1733289  
steinywi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 09:52 AM
  #221
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

does the muffler clear the cowl or do you have to cut a hole the size of the entire muffler?....
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 12:46 PM
  #222
wyo69cowboy
 
wyo69cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cody, WY
Posts: 757
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kochj

does the muffler clear the cowl or do you have to cut a hole the size of the entire muffler?....
Curious about that too; bet you're right though...[] Maybe one of the Pitts mufflers for the 20 might fit with little or no cutting on the side of the cowl. I love my bipe on 6S electric; just wish I could get a little longer than 7 minute flights. It's too much fun to have to land some times[8D]
wyo69cowboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:09 PM
  #223
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,933
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I really like the ease of gasoline, but the fit is quite tight furthermore, stock mufler really isn't a muffler, it is more of a muffled strait pipe. I would have to weld up a large volume mucked that could possibly fit on the battery compartment. Otherwise it would be too laud to run in populated areas...7
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 05:25 PM
  #224
steinywi
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 112
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe

I know everybody is different, but I don’t mind the cowl cut. This plane is such a blast to fly. I have been out in 30 mph winds and I have giggled while I flew it. I’m not real worried about the looks of it but the performance is where it is at. This is a 7.5 pound plane with 14 pounds of thrust. It floats when I want it rolls so fast I have the ailerons back at 50% for normal flying. It will 3d as good as any bipe! This is my travel, windy, just want to have fun plane. I always land with a smile and others just shake their head!! The Saito 91 was fun but this is so much fun it should be illegal.

Steiny

You can’t see the cowl in the air.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ax73209.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	132.4 KB
ID:	1733800  
steinywi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 08:14 PM
  #225
livefast_livefun
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lundar, MB, CANADA
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP .60 Reactor Bibe



i found a header system that i think will clear the cowl. i em planning on making a setup very simler to this link http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/yhst-1288974...3_2195_4692699 where i fly noise is not an issue. what are you guys doing to streathen the firewall...if anything? cant wait till spring to try this engine plane combo out! i em thinking of trying a smoker on this plane as well anyone done it with a dle20?

livefast_livefun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:04 AM.