Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 13 of 13

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    Hey Guys

    I just picked up a 50cc plane at a good price. I've been using the spektrum dx7, and ar6200's in my smaller nitro planes. This plane has elevator halves, and I'm wondering if I can effectively use the 6200 for this plane, or if I should just go to the ar7000?

    I'm wondering if I will be able to divide the channels up correctly, or if the 6th channel on the ar6200 really is meant for more, "landing gear" type of set ups?

    Thanks
    Tim

  2. #2
    MetallicaJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Donna, TX
    Posts
    5,429
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    Sure you can use it, ive done it before, you'll have to mix aux2 to your other elev halve. I just used it for a couple of flights with no problems....As a security blanket i use the ar9000 with 2 satellites on my gassers
    \"Propellers are notorious for inflicting serious bodily harm while vigorously defending their space\" George Aldrich

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ballwin, MO
    Posts
    824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    Do you think it would be enough? Would the 7000 be enough, or should I be using a 9000 in a 50cc?

  4. #4
    MetallicaJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Donna, TX
    Posts
    5,429
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    Yes you can use the 6200, but i would feel safer with the 7000 and even better with the 9000
    \"Propellers are notorious for inflicting serious bodily harm while vigorously defending their space\" George Aldrich

  5. #5
    Jezmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Spring, TX
    Posts
    2,132
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    Here is my 50cc Aeroworks Extra 260 that's had an AR7000 in it for over 2 yrs without a single issue. I am using 2ea 2700mah Expert NiMH packs for the receiver and one 900mah NiCd pack for ign. which let's me fly six 12 to 14 min flights before needing to charge. The flight packs have 5.8+ volts with a 1.5 amp load after the 6 flights and take about 900mah ea on recharge. I run the small ign pack so it will run out first and not let me screw up and run out of flight battery.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Us53788.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	36.4 KB 
ID:	1249308  
    Spektrum DX8i, DA DLE SuperTigre OS FOX Saito Enya Jett TT: John 3:16

  6. #6
    Radical Departure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Fayetteville, Arkansas AR
    Posts
    491
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    Been flying an AR7000 in my Dietrich 50cc for couple years without issue. Fromeco 2400 & 5200 batteries and Fromeco regulator. I use the 6200 in planes w/55" spans and smaller. You COULD use a 6200 in a 50cc plane, but you'd be much better served using at least a 7000 if possible, if for no other reason than having the additional sat. antenna.
    Radical Departure..
    ..from controlled flight

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    85
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??


    but you'd be much better served using at least a 7000 if possible, if for no other reason than having the additional sat. antenna.
    The AR6200 has a satellite receiver as well. Perhaps you're thinking of the 6100?

    The only difference I can see in the two, according to Spektrum's website, is the one added channel on the 7000 and the horizontal orientation for the plugs.

    Unless you can add a 2nd satellite to the 7000???

    You could always use a servo synchonizer too. But the cost of a servo synchronizer & an AR6200 total more than an AR7000. However, a synchronizer allows you to orient your servos to whatever is best in your airframe.

  8. #8
    Radical Departure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Fayetteville, Arkansas AR
    Posts
    491
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    Chalmrast,
    You're absolutely correct on all counts. I meant 6100. Thanks for the catch.

    I found the 7000 to be the better solution when it came time to set up the dual elev's. Since it was my first gasser, I felt more confident keeping mixes to a minimum. When consider the total replacement cost of the plane, the extra dollars (23?) to bump up, to me, was chump change. But yes a 6200 would do it.

    Don't think can add a second sat. to the 7000, at least I've not see it. In next gasser am going to give the 9000 a shot.
    Radical Departure..
    ..from controlled flight

  9. #9
    Iflyglow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Clintonville, WI
    Posts
    3,792
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    I see no reason why a 6200 would any weaker than the 7000 reciever. The circut boards and bus bars seem to be just as strong. The weak link would be that a Data logger can be used with 7000, but not with the 6200.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    queensland, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    891
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    lets work out the number of channels need for a gas model. rudder / elevator 1 and 2 / ailerons 1 and 2 / throttle / ignition kill. so to set up this gaser correctly without going into Y-Leads for alierons and elevators you really need 7 channels. but you can get away with 6 channells if 1 x Y-Lead is used for ailerons or elevators. to me the ar-6200 rx is just as good as the ar-7000, both have the extra satellite , just one less channel.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Levant, ME
    Posts
    700
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    I use a 6200 on my Ultimate 1.60 with a Brillelli 46cc. I have a Y for ailerons and a matchbox for elevator halves. Works great.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Poteau, OK
    Posts
    492
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    Im running an ar7000 in my Extreme Flight Yak54..Make sure you get some good reliable power switches..Im running a 4amp Ed Nano Hi voltage switch on my rx that has 1 heavy duty lead coming from Batt to switch and 2 wires coming out of switch going to RX to spread out the power in the RX..Im running 6 7955's so I wanted to make sure the power was spread over 2 wires instead of 1..Also It has more redundancy This way..You would not be able to do this with a 6 channel RX..
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Kh17403.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	144.6 KB 
ID:	1254393   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mh20712.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	132.2 KB 
ID:	1254394   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pn35927.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	167.3 KB 
ID:	1254395   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Yt62756.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	162.3 KB 
ID:	1254396  
    Miss Geico

  13. #13
    Radical Departure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Fayetteville, Arkansas AR
    Posts
    491
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Spektrum AR6200 for 50CC gas plane??

    Good looking plane.. see you're just down the road. Load it up and run up to Fayetteville sometime. Welcome to take a hop around our cabbage patch, Ozark Flyers.
    Radical Departure..
    ..from controlled flight


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.