RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   3D Flying! (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/3d-flying-82/)
-   -   The real story with CG (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/3d-flying-82/11221615-real-story-cg.html)

stevegauth30 09-08-2012 04:55 AM

The real story with CG

Ok, so, I've been flying rc for my whole life, but to 3d flying, I'm a newb. I've been getting conflicting answers as to CG. Some say you want an aft CG to perform a lot of maneuvers, and some say you want a balanced model. I'm sure there's a fine line , and a lot of it is opinion, but what's your thoughts on it. Thanks in advance for the knowledge.

ThumbSkull 09-08-2012 06:02 AM

RE: The real story with CG

A proper CG for 3D puts the plane upright and inverted flying level with no elevator input.
Most people think you need tail heavy but you don't, it just gets squirrely.
To most it's more tail heavy than they are used to when it's actually neutral.

stevegauth30 09-08-2012 06:18 AM

Thanks for your advice. But will it hang straight off the prop? Or will it want to pitch forward?

ThumbSkull 09-08-2012 06:38 AM

None will just 'hang' there, regardless of CG position. You have to fly it all the time making minor corrections.

Cobra1 09-11-2012 03:39 AM

With the CG at a point where inverted takes little to no down elevator input will just make the aircraft a better overall flyer. Any further aft does not make hanging on the prop any easier. That just take a lot of practice and pretty fast servos.

ahicks 09-11-2012 04:48 AM

I think they call it an aft CG because it's aft of the CG generally suggested by the manf? I agree once you find the neutral CG there's nothing to be gained by going further back, though there may be some special application for that I'm not aware of.