RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   3D Flying! (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/3d-flying-82/)
-   -   Great Planes Reactor GP/EP 3D ARF .46-.70 (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/3d-flying-82/4455981-great-planes-reactor-gp-ep-3d-arf-46-70-a.html)

Celidon 01-11-2007 11:08 PM

RE: Great Planes Reactor GP/EP 3D ARF .46-.70

I'm a noob to mounting a glow engine. I am planning on using an Evolution 2-stroke. Will it be OK to mount it 45 degrees down?

JustErik 01-12-2007 08:03 AM

Celidon,

Absolutely. In fact, that's how the manual shows a 2-stroke install. It puts the muffler on the bottom of the fuse and looks pretty clean. What size evolution are you using? I've read that those are pretty decent engines. It should do well.

Erik

RobertC 01-12-2007 12:28 PM

Actually, Erik, there is padding UNDER the tank (and the velcro tie holds the tank snug against the padding). I guess that I could add some on the sides, but I've never had a problem doing it like this. My VenusII (see avatar) is the new home of my YS .91 and I did the same thing (again, stock tank mounted at C.G.) and have not had any problems.

JustErik 01-12-2007 01:42 PM

ORIGINAL: RobertC

Actually, Erik, there is padding UNDER the tank (and the velcro tie holds the tank snug against the padding). I guess that I could add some on the sides, but I've never had a problem doing it like this. My VenusII (see avatar) is the new home of my YS .91 and I did the same thing (again, stock tank mounted at C.G.) and have not had any problems.

Robert,

How very clever of you. :) :) I'm stealing all your ideas, you know. :) Thanks again for helping me out.

Erik

RobertC 01-12-2007 11:04 PM

Feel free to copy all you like Erik (they are probably not *my* ideas anyway :)) I am glad that I can help. I should get the rest of the plane finished this weekend.

GarySS 01-13-2007 09:37 PM

Hello all Reactor owners,