RCU Forums - View Single Post - favorite glues?
View Single Post
Old 11-05-2006, 11:07 PM
Campgems

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: favorite glues?

I'm extreamly sensitive to fumes but other than eye irataion when the CA kicks, I haven't had a problem with it. I now use a big floor fan on low behind my chair and that circulation seems to solve the eye issue.

On epoxies, in my previous life as a jeweler, I used a lot of epoxies for stone work. I specialized in opals and opal inlays. There is a lot of different thoughts, but here is what I found hardened best and held best. Note in stone work, a very hard set is required as it will be sanded down, sometimes taking some stone and some gold, and the polished. The best I found was Uhu from Germany. It was a 30 minute set, but could be accelerated with heat and also by increasing the hardner. It dried to a very pale yellow and in the thin applications we used, it was totaly transparrent. One of the more robust epoxies I used was Epoxy 220 and Epoxy 330 by Hughes. The 220 is water clear, and the 330 is a pale yellow. The 330 by it's specs has a better hold, but in practice, I saw no difference. Again cure time could be accelerated with heat. I used the little 1oz tubes and if unopened, they would last forever. I just opoened a tube set last week that had been in my store stock for a couple years and I closed the store seven years ago. Nine years and counting. It is still very functional.

For 5 minute jobs, I use Devcon 5 minute in the small 1 oz tubes. It kicks a little faster than I like some times, but it has near the holding power of the Epoxy 330, in fact I would be hard pressed to tell the difference if I didn't have to polish out a joint.