Academy Racing (MRC) Support Forum Discuss all of the Academy Racing (MRC) product line in this forum.

Superbrain 960

Reply
Old 12-17-2007, 08:12 AM
  #1
ElectricGuy007
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 5,527
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Superbrain 960

I have the new 960 charger and need some more information on it.
People have said it can charge past the 3700maH limit? Is this true or not?
ElectricGuy007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 05:19 PM
  #2
guver
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Superbrain 960

Yes, it is true.
guver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 02:17 PM
  #3
ElectricGuy007
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 5,527
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Superbrain 960

So I would have to charge the pack 2 times to fully charge a 4500Mah battery...
ElectricGuy007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 04:15 PM
  #4
guver
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Superbrain 960

No, it should go right up to full normally. Tim might give you more insight on why there's a "max" mah of 3700 listed. I can only speculate that it has it's hands full because of the length of time spent chargeeing at 4.5 is close to a whole hour.

The older 959 would get hot doing that job, but the 960 has a cooler running power supply and should stay cooler. You may not want to do back to back packs.
guver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 06:46 PM
  #5
ElectricGuy007
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 5,527
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Superbrain 960

I could probably do my Elite saddles for my B44 back to back since they are 3600 and the charger manual
did say it could charge back to back packs. This 960 will be better as a racing charger due to not getting hot.
I like the charger, because I still have the old 959.
ElectricGuy007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 01:26 AM
  #6
The Collector1
 
The Collector1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn,Queens, NY
Posts: 3,027
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Superbrain 960

I charge my 4200 packs with it and it gets warm but not hot to touch but I give it some time in between to cool off a little
The Collector1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 01:13 PM
  #7
ElectricGuy007
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 5,527
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Superbrain 960

I like the fact that is lightweight and smaller than the bulky 959, so I can take it to the track without the tackle box weighing a ton!
ElectricGuy007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 02:14 AM
  #8
rpespo
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Superbrain 960

I purchased a 960 Super Brain to recharge the batteries for my RC18T and the receiver packs for my nitro vehicles. These smaller batteries are suppossed to be charged at 1 to 1.5 amps. The default charge rate on the Super Brain is 3 amps. I connected the battery, waited about 60 seconds and pressed display until the amps appeared. I pressed adjust in attempt to change the amps and nothing happened. The 960 would not let me change the amp rate. This happened with 2 different battery packs. Anybody have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks.
rpespo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 02:10 AM
  #9
gman1
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 348
Default RE: Superbrain 960

you have to adjust the Amp rate before you press the start button. Hope this helps. Let me know.
gman1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:54 AM
  #10
Kbruno89
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bohemia, NY
Posts: 106
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Superbrain 960

Hello,

I just bought a 6V 3600 Mah Ni-Mh Large Scale RX Battery. I was wondering what settings I should put my superbrain on for the first charge and also the charges after that! Please Let me know As Soon As Possible! Thank you!
Kbruno89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:55 PM.