Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Aerial Photography and Video
Reload this Page >

Beginner Seeking Advice on First Quadcopter Build for GoPro Footage

Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Beginner Seeking Advice on First Quadcopter Build for GoPro Footage

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2013, 09:25 AM
the.ronin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner Seeking Advice on First Quadcopter Build for GoPro Footage

Hi everyone. New to this forum and new to the quadcopter world. And frankly, I'm new to the r/c world in general lol

However, I am not new to GoPro videos and the reason I'm here is because I want to take my footage to the air. After much research, I've settled on a quadcopter as the ideal platform. After much more research, I've come up with the following parts list. Gross price is around $260 from HobbyKing.

Weight & Thrust Requirement

Assuming I've done the math right and my weight estimates are close, this configuration may be overpowered and was hoping to get advice on this in particular:

* total estimated weight including GoPro camera and case: 1,725 grams
* thrust required: 3,450 grams
* using 12x6E props at 1,010 grams per prop or 4,040 grams total; well over the 3,450 required (as per the indications on the motor page - see below for link)

Frame

I've opted for the HT-450 quad frame with the Dead Cat conversion kit to accomodate the GoPro. It looks like I could fashion tall landing gears and mount on the underbelly on the HT-450 alone but decided I liked the wider front arms of the conversion kit and placement of the GoPro.

* HT-450 Quad Frame Kit BLACK
* Dead Cat Conversion Kit for SK450 Quadcopter Frame