Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

First Quadcoter Build

Old 09-26-2014, 02:47 AM
CommanderBlaine

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Quadcoter Build

first thing's first i appologies if this is in the wrong section.

but i'm new to the forum and looking to build a quadcopter as my first ever build.

i have just bought this frame...
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-HJ-MWC...item3ce51af74b

and i am looking to build ontop of that to make my first quadcopter

anyone know where i should begin with this, i have no previous experience
Old 10-07-2014, 03:19 PM
Rob2160

Originally Posted by CommanderBlaine
first thing's first i appologies if this is in the wrong section.

but i'm new to the forum and looking to build a quadcopter as my first ever build.

i have just bought this frame...
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-HJ-MWC...item3ce51af74b

and i am looking to build ontop of that to make my first quadcopter

anyone know where i should begin with this, i have no previous experience
This frame is good for a first quad copter build.

Things to consider:

Motors & Propellers - do you want endurance or higher performance? Do you want to lift a camera? or a gimbal?

You can get fast revving (High Kv) motors and use smaller propellors, this generally gives sportier performance, or you can use lower revving (Low Kv) motors and large props, this is better for endurance and lifting a payload.

Speed controllers (ESCs) - you will need 4 of these, same brand and calibrated the same - most quad copters fly better with ESCs that have SimonK firmware - this removes a lot of features from the ESC that are unnecessary in a Quadcopter, and also provides a faster response to throttle changes.

Flight control board - again many choices and decide what you want the quad to do? For sport flying you just need a simple board such as a KK2, Multiwii or Naze 32.