Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

CX-171 voltage switch

Reply

Old 01-17-2004, 07:15 PM
  #1  
Ben Diss
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chestnut Ridge, NY
Posts: 426
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default CX-171 voltage switch

I picked up a Panasonic CX-171 to start my airborne video project. I understand this is a 12V camera and I can convert it to 5V. I looked at the attached daughter board and it looks like it's substantially more than a voltage regulator. Has anyone done this before?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om34412.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	91564   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kg15125.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	91565   Click image for larger version

Name:	Li21091.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	26.6 KB
ID:	91566  
Ben Diss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2004, 07:18 PM
  #2  
Ben Diss
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chestnut Ridge, NY
Posts: 426
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CX-171 voltage switch

Also, is the heat sink necessary if this camera is operated at 5v?
Ben Diss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2004, 10:42 PM
  #3  
mr.rc-cam
Senior Member
 
mr.rc-cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Coast, CA
Posts: 536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CX-171 voltage switch

I understand that the daughter board is only needed for 12V operation and that the heatsink is not needed if the 12V board is not used. A couple minutes with your voltmeter should confirm what is going on at the connector and will help verify the 5V operation. Cyber-Flyer has hacked his, so maybe he will chime in and share what he learned.
mr.rc-cam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2004, 10:55 PM
  #4  
Ben Diss
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chestnut Ridge, NY
Posts: 426
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CX-171 voltage switch

Thanks RC-Cam. I'm still a sceptic, but I tried it. Sure enough, it's putting 5V into the camera. I hooked it up and it worked. Only thing I'm concerned about is that it got a little hot. Ambient in this room is 68f and the board got up to 120f. The heatsink attaches to the camera board, not the VR board so I stuck it back on and it was soon at 100f. The heatsink weighs 7g (compared to 12 for the camera alone) so I wish I knew the tolerance of the camera.

-Ben
Ben Diss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2004, 11:48 PM
  #5  
mr.rc-cam
Senior Member
 
mr.rc-cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Coast, CA
Posts: 536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CX-171 voltage switch

A 50f rise over ambient certainly indicates the heatsink is needed. Sounds like the CX171 is a bit power hungry.

BTW, the CX161 runs about 5f over ambient. It is a very efficient little fellow.
mr.rc-cam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 10:54 AM
  #6  
yb2normal
Senior Member
 
yb2normal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO,
Posts: 344
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CX-171 voltage switch

I can confirm the need for the heatsink on the CX171, I purchased the 5v version (no daughter board) and it came with a pretty substantial heatsink, considering the size of the camera!

Regards,
Bill
yb2normal is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service