Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Looking into video. Confusing

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2004, 11:50 PM
Re-Builder

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking into video. Confusing

First of all, let me say that I am new to video. I am looking for information on what is needed like a Ham lic.? Are there video systems you can put on your plane and fly around without all the troubles of getting a lic. to operate it?

RB
Old 01-14-2004, 08:26 PM
Fubar-One
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Looking into video. Confusing

Welcome to the forum!
As far as video systems, the Hong Kong systems mainly operate on 1.2ghz but at a frequency that is lower than the actual Ham band. They are pretty much illegal to operate in the US regardless of license or not. I didnt know this when I first got one and began telling everyone about it. Some of those Hong Kong systems work pretty well, some are crap. The ones that claim to operate at 800mw of power generally are ok as far as operation but its up to you whether you would run one or not due to the frequency legalities. I doubt the Black Helicopters would start circling overhead when you fired that baby up but...
The better systems available (check out BlackwidowAV.com) operate on 2.4ghz and two of the 4 freqs that are setup on these systems are Ham license legal. These cost more than the Hong Kong systems but definitely work better. Worth the money. His systems use a CCD camera which is a much better camera than the CMOS cams that come with the Hong Kong systems.
Getting a Ham license is very easy these days and one added bonus (BIG bonus!) is the ability to operate your RC planes on 50mhz. Granted, the equipment available on 50mhz is limited compared to 72mhz but I have yet to run into frequency conflicts at any field I have flown at.

Back to the video stuff.