Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Sound Problem

Reply

Old 03-23-2004, 06:57 PM
  #1  
KantoModelAir
Member
Thread Starter
 
KantoModelAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: APO, AE
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sound Problem

Has anyone bought one of those 2.4 GHz cmos cameras with sound from ebay? I did, and there is no sound. Auction said camera w/ built in microphone. Seems like I got ripped off. Anyone else w/ this problem?
Mark
KantoModelAir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 07:42 PM
  #2  
KantoModelAir
Member
Thread Starter
 
KantoModelAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: APO, AE
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sound Problem

Never mind, I must have done something wrong cause now it does work
Mark
KantoModelAir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 08:23 PM
  #3  
brownknows
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 86
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sound Problem

When editing the footage from airborne video, does anyone really use the sound? I usually dub it over, because it is too distorted or windy sounding.
brownknows is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 08:40 PM
  #4  
KantoModelAir
Member
Thread Starter
 
KantoModelAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: APO, AE
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sound Problem

Distorted and windy? Dang... I hope not. Is there any way to clean it up like wrap it with some foam or something?
KantoModelAir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 08:29 PM
  #5  
Fubar-One
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Fubar-One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 1,774
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sound Problem

Mostly I do not use the onboard sound but it really depends on which plane it would be. With my 900mhz system on my Kadet Senior the mic has a built in gain which makes it pretty useless on board a plane. Gotta do something about that. Since I am using a stereo camcorder on the ground tho, I can dub the onboard audio in one channel and use another mic on the ground to record pilot and bystander comments.
The mic with the BlackwidowAV system automaticaly damps itself down so is very usable onboard. Pretty neat for use on an acrobatic plane where the engine speed is changing a lot and should be handy for glider and slope glider aps.
I figure I can always lose or tone down the audio during editing anyway. Rather have it and not need it than want it and not have it!
Oh yeah, since seeing your Uproar picture here, I now have to dust mine off and take it out for some fun!
ORIGINAL: brownknows

When editing the footage from airborne video, does anyone really use the sound? I usually dub it over, because it is too distorted or windy sounding.
Fubar-One is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service