Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Digital camera triggering

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2004, 09:03 AM
TenTen

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Digital camera triggering

I am quite new to electric rc planes. I am learning to fly an Aerobird Challenger on my own and I am doing pretty well and I am builing a Slow Stick right now. I have an extra 4 channel Futaba AM radio system and I want to install a cheap digital camera on the SS. My main question is how you trigger the camera's shouter. I asume you use a free chanel from the radio system but I am not sure at all about the electronics and connections. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 05-27-2004, 08:25 PM
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Digital camera triggering

Ive seen some put a small servo with an arm that does the shutter... not sure how much weight you want to add though
Old 05-28-2004, 02:08 AM
mtucker

I am not sure if you already have your "cheap camera", but the "Cam man" mod with an Aiptek camera works very well for a budget. I have that setup (cam man mod with an Aiptek Mini 1.3 on my T-hawk (very similar to your Aerobird).
The Aiptek modification page on Mr. Cam Mans page is at
[link]http://www.rc-cam.com/camman.htm[/link]

A video from my setup is at
[link]http://kahuna.sdsu.edu/~tucker/airplanes/Home_garage_takeoff.mpg[/link]

Pictures from my setup are at
[link]http://kahuna.sdsu.edu/~tucker/airplanes/aerial.html[/link]

I have already posted the pictures and the video in a previous post, but I included them here for convenience.
I use the landing gear switch to trigger the camera. You do need some soldering experience and a way to program a micro-controller.
For the money, you can't go wrong.
Matt
Old 05-28-2004, 03:49 AM
TenTen

Thanks a lot!