Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

What 12v supply do you use?

Reply

Old 06-09-2004, 10:01 AM
  #1  
forus
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stockholm, AR,
Posts: 207
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What 12v supply do you use?

I just wanted to see what kind of power supply you use for your 12v on-board video equipment. I have used 8x1.2 (AA) but would like to try something more practical in size and weight.
forus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 11:15 AM
  #2  
yb2normal
Senior Member
 
yb2normal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Broomfield, CO,
Posts: 344
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What 12v supply do you use?

A lot depends on the transmitter and how tolerant it is of under and over voltages, but I use a 3 cell li-poly pack on my 12v transmitters with good success.

Just be sure your camera is equally tolerant of voltage fluctuations, I got a "deal" on a color bullet camera on ebay and managed to fry it when I used an unregulated 12v supply which hit the camera with around 14v.

Bill
yb2normal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 09:34 PM
  #3  
Fubar-One
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Fubar-One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 1,774
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What 12v supply do you use?

I am using 10 1100mAh AA nicads for the 12v system on my Kadet Senior. That weight really isnt an issue for that plane. I assume you are also using 10 cells for yours since 8X1.2 gives you 9.6v.
ORIGINAL: forus

I just wanted to see what kind of power supply you use for your 12v on-board video equipment. I have used 8x1.2 (AA) but would like to try something more practical in size and weight.
Fubar-One is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 02:39 AM
  #4  
forus
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stockholm, AR,
Posts: 207
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What 12v supply do you use?

Fubar-One

No, actually I used 8 regular AA cells (1.5V). Wirelessvideocameras (the company) supplied only the batteryholder for 8 AAs. I haven't used this system for 4 years (only been fooling around with a small short range cam on my Hornet and combatwing), so I will power it up again this summer. I think I might take to 9v batteries in serial connection and regulate it down to 12v. Should be lighter than 10 AAs. I would like the li-poly solution, but I don't have a charger at the moment.
I need to keep weight down, because I am buying a Kyosho Calmato to be set up with GPS telemetry, and it all adds up.....
forus is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy