Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

video cams with more than 330 lines

Reply

Old 06-29-2004, 02:02 PM
  #1  
soul4U
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: , GERMANY
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default video cams with more than 330 lines

i am using a panasonic kx121 cam, a blackwidow 200mw downlink with patch antenna on receiver and a 3ccd camcorder for recording.
is there any better cam than the kx121 with its 330 lines?
does anyone know, how many lines a panasonic nv mx 500 camcorder can record?

thanks for any help!


soul4u
soul4U is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 03:19 PM
  #2  
AutoMike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seymour, IN,
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: video cams with more than 330 lines

CCD Sharp 480 Res. SuperHAD Spy Camera Item number: 5705340072

This is the one I've just bought on ebay. He has more of them but I havent got it just yet to try it out but sounds like a great cam. Piper
AutoMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 06:10 PM
  #3  
stevennh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portsmouth, NH,
Posts: 814
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: video cams with more than 330 lines

If your camcorder is DV or mini-DV it is 480 lines. I am looking for a 400+ line camera too (I have the 600mw version from BW with the KX121). Let me know what you find. I would prefer 5v and have not seen anything other than the old CX171 that runs at 5v.

Steve
stevennh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 05:08 PM
  #4  
Tom in Cincy
My Feedback: (16)
 
Tom in Cincy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: video cams with more than 330 lines

Mr.Pipercub, Did you get your new camera from that vendor on Ebay? I see they sell them from their website for $99 +14 to ship. I was thinking of ordering one, just wanted
to see how yours worked out.

Thanks,
Tom
Tom in Cincy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 02:05 AM
  #5  
AutoMike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seymour, IN,
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: video cams with more than 330 lines

Yep I like it. Very sharp compared to my old CMOS one. I plan to go out this weekend to fine tune it. I only got to fly for 15 mins last weekend when I got it then the rain and heat set in. I'm running off of an 8 cell AAA pack and from the very start it looked like it wont due for the best performance. Its a 12v cam and fully charged the pack is 11.3 and the Tx also uses the same pack so after about 20-30 mins the cam blacks out because the voltage has fallen to low. Off of charge its OK for a while and then the colors seem to wain a bit. Using a 12v power supply the cam is great so I know I need to work with my on-board voltage. IMO its a great upgrade cam but I havent got much airtime with it to find out its like and dislikes but forsee no problems. Mike
AutoMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 02:26 PM
  #6  
Fubar-One
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Fubar-One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 1,774
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: video cams with more than 330 lines

The camera I got from Super Circuits is something like 460 lines. Unfortunately, it operates on 12v. Got it as part of a package but it is available by itself:[link=http://www.supercircuits.com/STORE/prodinfo.asp?number=PC169XP&variation=&aitem=1&mitem=17] PC169XP CCD cam[/link]
ORIGINAL: soul4U

i am using a panasonic kx121 cam, a blackwidow 200mw downlink with patch antenna on receiver and a 3ccd camcorder for recording.
is there any better cam than the kx121 with its 330 lines?
does anyone know, how many lines a panasonic nv mx 500 camcorder can record?

thanks for any help!


soul4u
Fubar-One is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 10:44 PM
  #7  
Tom in Cincy
My Feedback: (16)
 
Tom in Cincy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: video cams with more than 330 lines

Hi Mike, I bought one of the Sharp 480 Res. SuperHAD Spy Cameras from Quality Video and its very,very nice. Video quality is super. I am running it off my 3s lipo main airborne battery and haven't had any issues with the voltage effecting video quality.
Thanks for the tip.
Tom P.
Tom in Cincy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 01:16 AM
  #8  
AutoMike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seymour, IN,
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: video cams with more than 330 lines

Im glad you like yours too. I just got about 45 mins flight time this weekend with the cam and Im using 10 Ni-mh cells and got the cam to give a fine picture. The right voltage helps, was just hoping 8 cells would do. I too was suprized at the image quality. I was able to pick out my parents house from about 800" AGL and a mile and a half away. BTW Im using a Hanger 9 1/4 scale Super Cub as my cam plane with a Homelite 25cc weedeater engine on it and dont have trouble with any vibration. I have a 1/2" foam pad between the cam pod and the underside of the right wing near the fusalage and its lightly rubber banded to the wing. Mike E.
AutoMike is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy