Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

PC Interface and Control for RC

Reply

Old 07-09-2004, 11:05 AM
  #1  
Guba
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: GIUSSANOMI, ITALY
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default PC Interface and Control for RC

Hello.

I'm interested in developing some slow models to be remotely controlled via PC.

I'd like to know if there is some RC producer with radios that may be interfaced with PC.

Thanks in advance for any help.

If I'm off topic here [] please tell me which is the right forum for this question.

Thanks again

Sergio
Guba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 11:20 AM
  #2  
mr.rc-cam
Senior Member
 
mr.rc-cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Coast, CA
Posts: 536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC Interface and Control for RC

Nearly all modern R/C Tx's can be interfaced to a computer via the trainer jack. The PC or Tx interface will need to perform all the encoding.

There are several internet sites with projects like this. For example:
http://www.mh.ttu.ee/risto/rc/electronics/pc2rcv2.htm
http://www.welwyn.demon.co.uk/PC_RC/PC_to_RC.htm
mr.rc-cam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 05:39 PM
  #3  
Guba
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: GIUSSANOMI, ITALY
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC Interface and Control for RC

Thanx a lot !!!

These are really interesting projects, but I'd like to find something commercially available, while I think it will be probably possible to order such devices mounted and ready.
Do you know if there is any manufacturer for such kind of device ?
However I will go to see on Futaba website to check it.

I can't understand what you mean with " the PC or Tx interface will need to perform all the encoding". If it is a conversion that must be done, usually there are protocols and interfaces which can do it. For instance if the trainer Jack is a serial RS232 or something (I don't know) there is a precise way to do the encoding, but it is the serial interface that does it.

What kind of interface is the trainer jack based on ?

Cheers.

Sergio
Guba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 05:54 PM
  #4  
mr.rc-cam
Senior Member
 
mr.rc-cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Coast, CA
Posts: 536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC Interface and Control for RC

If it is a conversion that must be done, usually there are protocols and interfaces which can do it.
That is the purpose of the first link's magic box. A PC could also create the encoded signal too. Some folks are even doing it with the PC's sound card.

What kind of interface is the trainer jack based on ?
Mostly it is PPM (pulse position modulation) encoded. The other encoding scheme is based on PCM (more difficult to do). The site in the first link explains the basics of PPM. Beyond that, there are dozens of other web sites that discuss the PPM encoding scheme further. Just google a bit.
mr.rc-cam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 11:22 AM
  #5  
EObrad
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boca Ratorn, FL
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC Interface and Control for RC

Its possible already. You need a trainer jack to serial cable from ebay, and the program "ppjoy" and you are able to use your radio as any other gaming device!
EObrad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2004, 06:50 AM
  #6  
rah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Gordon, SYDNEYNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: PC Interface and Control for RC

I am trying to use SmartPropo to interface my JR2610 transmitter to my PC for use with FMS. My PC is running XP, and it crashes out after loading the winmm.dll. Has anyone discovered a work around for this problem so that I can connect my radio via the sound card ?

Thanks in Advance
rah is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service