Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Slo-v Camera?

Reply

Old 10-10-2004, 12:56 PM
  #1  
Chikokishi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , MT
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Slo-v Camera?

Hey!

I own a Slo-V and i wanted to know what kind of camera would be good to go on it. Im not looking for anything fancy, just something i can mess with and get used to taking pictures. In other words, the cheapest camera thatll go on a slo-v ..haha.

Thanks,
Fox
Chikokishi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 03:24 PM
  #2  
Steve108
Senior Member
My Feedback: (36)
 
Steve108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Slo-v Camera?

Try a disposable camera.
Steve108 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 06:49 PM
  #3  
Steve108
Senior Member
My Feedback: (36)
 
Steve108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Slo-v Camera?

Sorry about the shortness of my first answer. To mount a camera (any camera) on an RC plane you need to pad it with foam wherever it will touch the plane to prevent fuzzyness from vibration. Also, you will need and additional servo and channel on your remote. The camera can be mounted either sideways or facing down (I prefer sideways). You can attach the camera with rubberbands to hold it on. I attach a servo on to the camera with double stick foam tape.

You said you wanted the cheapest possible so with that you loose automatic winding- you will have to land after each flight to wind for the next shot. I personally recommed a point-and-shoot camera with auto winding set up the same as above.

Good luck!
Steve108 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 07:07 PM
  #4  
Chikokishi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , MT
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Slo-v Camera?

Im not sure if you know what a Slo-V is. Its a park flyer and im assuming it has a VERY limited carrying capacity, i doubt it could ever take off carrying a full size handheld camera. Or possibly im mistaking the type of camera your describing? Im rather new to this sport (a couple months i think) and im lacking on knowledge of camera and extra engines and add ons and stuff.

Fox
Chikokishi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 07:21 PM
  #5  
Steve108
Senior Member
My Feedback: (36)
 
Steve108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Slo-v Camera?

I have seen pictures of a Slo-V and they look similar to a Slow Stick. I don't know if it could carry a camera but I know a slow stick will. I use a Kadet LT40 for my camera but I have heard about people using Slow-Sticks for cameras. The cameras I'm talking about you take about 27 pictures and then turn the whole camera in for developing.

Sorry I can't help out more. I will see if I can find anything else out for you.
Steve108 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 07:51 PM
  #6  
Chikokishi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , MT
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Slo-v Camera?

To whome ever emailed me:

i tried to email back but it failed... Is the camera able to hook up to x-port? i must not be understanding correctly. Im sorry. how can a 27 exp. camera's button be pushed while in flight? I feel kinda dumb asking these questions...

Fox
Chikokishi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 08:01 PM
  #7  
Steve108
Senior Member
My Feedback: (36)
 
Steve108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Slo-v Camera?

I'm sorry. You said that the Slo-V is X-Port enabled?

Try this link: [link]http://www.rc-cam.com/cammanxp.htm[/link]

It should be perfect!

To activate a 27exp camera you would need a servo which is basically a geared motor that can be commanded to move to a specific position very accurately. It has an arm on it that could push the button. I looked into the Slo-V information and I don't think you could use one of the 27exp cameras anymore. Sorry to give you that advice. My recomendation now would be to use the above link.

BTW, don't feel bad about being confused - nobody is born knowing this stuff.
Steve108 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 07:22 PM
  #8  
Chikokishi
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , MT
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Slo-v Camera?

Cool, ill look into that
Thanks Steve!

Fox
Chikokishi is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service