Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

CHEAPEST ccd setup

Reply

Old 11-17-2004, 07:33 PM
  #1  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default CHEAPEST ccd setup

What is the chepest youve found/got a complete ccd system (ccd cam, tx, rx) for?

Im looking for alternatives to blackwidowav.com . Is is possible to use the very good $99 ccd cam plus a cheap ebay tx/rx?

I've got $200 and i really want a ccd setup...
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 07:46 PM
  #2  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

Like whats so bad about this: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...731495091&rd=1 ?

USA Set CCD Wireless Color Pinhole Camera Spy cam Clear $119
Ebay Item number: 5731495091

or this:

Sony Super CCD Mini Cam $69
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...731919051&rd=1

Ebay Item number: 5731919051
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 11:46 PM
  #3  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

people in these forums dont reply...
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:11 AM
  #4  
Mhale71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 644
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

not often
Mhale71 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:33 AM
  #5  
kd7ost
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nampa, ID,
Posts: 402
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

ryryryryryr
kd7ost is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:48 AM
  #6  
randall1959
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

http://207.207.29.130/STORE/prodinfo...tem=2&mitem=16
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:58 AM
  #7  
randall1959
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

I sent you two pm's that will show you how to do it for less than a hundred bucks. You will also need to get a 9.6 volt parkflyer pack to power the transmitter and the camera.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 08:24 AM
  #8  
echobot
Senior Member
 
echobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sturgis, MI
Posts: 314
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

Has anybody tried one of these $40.00 CCD cameras? I'd like to know how well they work.
echobot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 10:08 AM
  #9  
randall1959
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
randall1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: saint joseph, MO
Posts: 1,253
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

I have one of their 59 dollar ones and it works great.....supercircuits is a very good company.
randall1959 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 03:22 PM
  #10  
AutoMike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seymour, IN,
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

GTac02, you made 3 post in about 4hrs and no one replied? C'mon man, most people check the fourm once a day and dont camp on it. Now about your question, rcu has blocked your links for whatever reason but I looked at you ebay cam you listed the number for. Dont get that one, it has the Tx and cam built together and has very limited range. Plus the Rx has a knob at the top of it to "tune " in the channel you whan to receive. these type are pron to drift and you may find your self tring to fly and tweek the knob all the time. Heres one without camera but still has the knob for tuning, 5731740550. If you cant find one that has push button channel select then the type with the tuning knob will have to do.

Heres my 2 cents, If your asking all these questions about finding a way to get this done with high quality and then ask about how do do it cheap, I would guess you havent messed with this stuf before and getting a proven B/W setup right off would give you the plug and play results your after right now. All these other options require some "cut and paste" and re-wire and soldering to get the great results some of us have had. The latter sounds like something you might not be ready for but would be the cheapest and most rewarding if your into hacking stuff. Mike E.
AutoMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 03:26 PM
  #11  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

Dont worry about that, i can solder and know a fair amount about electronics.
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 03:31 PM
  #12  
AutoMike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seymour, IN,
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

Great..then if you build one, just make sure you get one that has the Tx seperate from the cam, follow randalls advise/links and you should be up and running in no time.
AutoMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 03:40 PM
  #13  
AutoMike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seymour, IN,
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

heres a high power one you could start with 5732661183. Like the one randall is using I think.
AutoMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 05:54 PM
  #14  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

Ok so is this all straight-forward video and audo connections, like i can just solder the video out of the cam to an rca video connector so in can plug it into that transmitter right? Like, what kind of connections and leads does this cam come with? I just see a white connector on that picture of the cam (which i could manipulate but which connector is what?).
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 06:22 PM
  #15  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

Im debating between these 3 choices:
1. 5732762549 $115 shipped 1W 9-1.2ghz 4 selectable chans AV tx and rz SMALL AND LIGHT
2. 5732540300 $70 shipped .1W 1.2ghz 4 selectable chans AV tx*2 and rx SMALL AND LIGHT
3. 5732073327 $65 shipped 1W 2.4ghz 4 selectable chans VA tx and rx BIG AND HEAVY

I like number 3, but i dont know how big it really is, and if i would have a problem having it in my 4*60. Also, is it even possible to connect supercircuit's $40 cam to option 3. This is where i need you guy's help
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 06:43 PM
  #16  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

And what do u know, i have a 9.6v fast charge Asahi yellow rechargeable battery that i used to use for my rc car. And i also have a 12v AC-DC wall adaptor. So i just need to know which of those tx rx work and ill be set.
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 06:46 PM
  #17  
echobot
Senior Member
 
echobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sturgis, MI
Posts: 314
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

ORIGINAL: GTac02

Ok so is this all straight-forward video and audo connections, like i can just solder the video out of the cam to an rca video connector so in can plug it into that transmitter right? Like, what kind of connections and leads does this cam come with? I just see a white connector on that picture of the cam (which i could manipulate but which connector is what?).

GTac02,

The camera should have three wires on it. Red is +, black is -, and yellow is video. The same should be true for the transmitter. Just hook the reds together, the blacks together, and the yellows together. Some transmitters might have a white wire and this is for audio. Now, I'm sure some systems could have a different color code, but all of the ones I have tried have the color codes I explained above.

In regards to which system to buy I can tell you that I wasted alot of money on those ebay systems and was never happy with the quality of the video. And if you get a bad system from ebay, good luck trying to get a replacement.

Save your money and get a system from www.microcameras.com or www.blackwidowav.com



My 2 cents.
echobot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 07:01 PM
  #18  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

Im getting the camera from here: http://207.207.29.130/STORE/prodinfo...tem=2&mitem=16 not from ebay. What im getting from ebay is the tx and rx.
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 07:06 PM
  #19  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

I can power both the tx and camera with the single 9.6v batt right?
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 07:26 PM
  #20  
echobot
Senior Member
 
echobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sturgis, MI
Posts: 314
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

ORIGINAL: GTac02

I can power both the tx and camera with the single 9.6v batt right?
If they are both the same voltage. I looked at the camera you are getting and it doesn't say what voltage it is. You might want to find out before you buy it.
echobot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 09:19 PM
  #21  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

But lets say they were, i just hook both of them up serial or parallel?
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 09:53 PM
  #22  
AutoMike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seymour, IN,
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

parallel. understand what echobot is saying....you might end up with a smoking bunch of junk. A turn key setup from a vender like BWAV is really a good way to go if your unsure of what wire does what, not every ebay sestem has the wires all coded the same in respect to color and function.
AutoMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 11:37 PM
  #23  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

I know, ill figure it out. Look, i was just asking how to do the battery thats all. So i would do parallel so that both the tx and the cam get 9.6v.
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 11:50 PM
  #24  
GTac02
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

I know exactly what he said.
GTac02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 02:30 AM
  #25  
AutoMike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seymour, IN,
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CHEAPEST ccd setup

if the cam is 12v then you'll need a 10 ni-cad/nimh pack. Of the systems you listed, I'd go with #2 but both look to be just what you need to have a setup that can have any type of cam wired to it, They both look just like mine and I like the receivers not having that darn tuning knob. On mine it will work on a 8 cell pack but both the picture and range are WAY better with a 10 cell pack.
AutoMike is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy