Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Aerial Photography and Video
Reload this Page >

Novice to Aerial Photography/Need Hlp

Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Novice to Aerial Photography/Need Hlp

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2003, 12:35 PM
boulter

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Novice to Aerial Photography/Need Hlp

Absolute novice to R/C Air photography. Can any one specify some basics. Plane size and type. Cameras (digital/film) that have been used, or available for hobby, or similar gear. Mounting and control mechanisms. Any gear already on the market for aerial photography?

Thinking about using a GB Eagle 2 as a plane with a .65 engine.
Any advice as to how to go about this endeavor?
Old 05-03-2003, 08:42 PM
Fubar-One
My Feedback: (1)

A bit new to it myself but are you talking about still images or video? I mounted a 35mm auto focus autowind camera inside a Right Flyer 40T. I used a CS20 servo mounted with servo tape to the top of the camera to activate it and plugged that into the flap channel on the radio. The servo arm would rotate and push down the button on the camera.
It took pictures OK, but the images were blurry. I figure this was a vibration effect but wrapping the camera in foam and mounting the engine on a Sullivan vibration damping mount did absolutely nothing to correct it. The camera was looking out of the left side of the plane. I would use the left wing as an aiming point. Point the wing at what I wanted a picture of and click the switch.
This is about the best image I got.
Im attempting wireless video now...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	75537_29664.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	45089  
Old 05-03-2003, 10:30 PM
goliath-RCU
My Feedback: (8)

Default my camera setup

Here's My first try:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/showthread...45&forumid=226

Here's My latest::