Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

High Altitude Flight

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2008, 07:11 AM
steve2972
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High Altitude Flight

Did this over the weekend using a Nikon Digital Camera,what you think??!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFUH2Tiytpk
Old 09-16-2008, 08:23 AM
cmoulder

Default RE: High Altitude Flight

Steve,

Nice video. What program did you use to compress it? I am just getting into this (digital video) and thus far my compressed files don't look nearly as good as yours.

HOWEVER, even with the wide-angle perspective of the lens, it looks as if your aircraft was flying pretty high, perhaps 1000-1500 ft AGL, which has legal ramifications here in the States and, I would imagine, in GBR as well. In the locales that I fly, light civilian aircraft routinely fly at these low levels and flying a model this high would definitely pose a serious risk of collision.

Believe me, I am no nanny-statist, but I hope you have a couple of spotters with you who are keeping a keen eye and ear on possible full-scale traffic.
Old 09-16-2008, 08:38 AM
steve2972
My Feedback: (2)

Hi Bob,
I just used the standard Movie Maker program no extra compression programs.The camera is set to Tv quality however so maybe thats why it looks pretty good? Regarding high altitude,I am actually flying in a fairly tight sqaure and have a spotter looking out for me just in case!!

Cheers

Steve
Old 09-19-2008, 09:10 AM
skeeter_ca

I did not know there was any kind of altitude restriction for RC models in the states. I have heard of restriction around airports, but not in uncontrolled areas. I just figured if you can see it you can fly it.

skeeter
Old 09-19-2008, 05:14 PM
cmoulder

Interesting discussion here:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_44...mpage_2/tm.htm