RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Aerial Photography and Video (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/aerial-photography-video-81/)
-   -   Best way to mount wireless video cam??? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/aerial-photography-video-81/2764361-best-way-mount-wireless-video-cam.html)

Ur_Dad 03-14-2005 03:12 PM

Best way to mount wireless video cam???

I'm a total newbie to RC video. just got the Micro Cam 2 CI from MicroWireless, and i'm trying to figure out the best way to mount it on my plane (a Hangar 9 XE 2 trainer). has anyone come up with an easy way to mount the camera and 9 volt battery so you can be pretty sure it won't fall off during flight? i got an extension for my muffler, so oil spray shouldn't be too big an issue anywhere on the plane. just wondering how to attach the camera ... whether i need to fashion a holder out of balsa, etc. or just affix the cam some other way ... i'm itching to try it out.

roltech 03-14-2005 09:19 PM

RE: Best way to mount wireless video cam???

I have not tried this but some club members uses velcro strips and seem to wor ok did not hear of any falling of. and I might add it sure sticks.

roltech

Gravityisnotmyfriend 03-14-2005 11:01 PM

I built a pod out of scrap balsa and covered it. I screwed four hooks into it and attach it with rubber bands. Works pretty slick. I'll post some pics when I get a chance.

Ur_Dad 03-16-2005 11:45 AM

1 Attachment(s)
so i got impatient and tried it out yesterday, without doing anything fancy with the camera mount. i learned really quickly that vibration and wind are my enemies. it was cool to see the video of our flying site ... but hard to make out with all the static and interference.