Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Need a airfoil for a tail heavy plane

Community
Search
Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Need a airfoil for a tail heavy plane

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2011, 06:24 PM
DomPotvin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need a airfoil for a tail heavy plane

Hi guys !

I need your experience here. Im doing a 1/6 version of the MQ-9B (also know as the Predator) and i need advice on airfoils.

The plane is going to be quite large (around 12 foot) and im sure it will be tail heavy since the engine will be at the back.

Ill probably need an adjustable counter weight, but even then wondering if it will be enough.

The nitro plane MQ-9 replica use a eppler 374, look good to me, but im really new to modeling so ill need your great advice.

The purpose of the plane is to be a drone, equiped with the ArduMega autopilot system. Im not there yet ! but i love the project, make me go back

to my woodworking skills.

So slow to medium speed, with great endurance for the fuel (might switch to a fuel cell in the future, yes it already exist some

system :http://www.horizonfuelcell.com), i know its not the best plane to have fun with, but its more a challenge for me and ... the computer will fly it not me hehe

Also if you can suggest airfoil for the tail, would be appreciated.

By the way ! im doing a lot of reseach but math arent my best skills !

Ill soon post picture of the frame of the plug.

Thanks !

Dominick
Old 06-04-2011, 06:46 PM
pimmnz

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Need a airfoil for a tail heavy plane