Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Maximum altitude??

Community
Search
Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Maximum altitude??

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2012, 07:41 PM
IflyPATTERN

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Maximum altitude??

Hey guys, since I am "new" to this forum, I will first introduce myself. My name is Brandon Landry. I am a Biological Engineering student at LSU and an F3A/pattern competitor. Recently I have been granted by LSU to design/build a UAV for a professional research team, which is headed by an LSU professor. The UAV will have onboard cameras and other various gadgets and gizmos (wont go into detail since its not relative to the aims of this thread) which will hopefully allow myself to easily fly this UAV (at different altitudes) and collect samples of the microbial life that may (or may not) inhabit the earth's atmosphere so that the research team can study/analyze them. As I have already mentioned above, I am pattern pilot and enthusiast. I am not an aerodynamics guro- though I do understand a great deal about basic aerodynamics from my past 8+ years.

Now, here's where the actual thread starts:

Conceptually, I have planned in my head to use a modified glider platform as the basic theme for my UAV design. This glider will be powered by an electric motor, which I have decided to mount the in the rear of the plane so that I can use a pusher propellor system (I have my reasons). The propellor itself will be folding to reduce drag when not "in use". Here's what I'd like to hear opinions about: (These questions may seem vague, in fact I know they are. But, since I am a "newbie" to some of this, Id like to start from gound zero and work my way up and possibly get more specific later on in the thread.)

1. what is a "good rule of thumb" wing area to weight ratio (or just wing loading) for gliders?