Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

question about my 4 star60

Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 06:57 AM
  #1
tlojak38
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default question about my 4 star60

Hello all. Please don't laugh if I don't ask this question correctly. I'm new to aerodynamics. Ok here it goes. I'm setting up hi and low range on my dx7. Now, on the instruction video I watched on YouTube, he started talking about putting in incidence. When I went in to the dx7, it gave me the option of linear, or to put a degree of incidence. My question is, are my wings on the Sig linear, or what degree of incidence do I have, and how does that affect the sweep of the Servos? How might I figure out incidence, so I don't have to keep asking on here. Thanks for any help. Todd
tlojak38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:54 AM
  #2
pimmnz
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 1,958
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: question about my 4 star60

The generally accepted definition of 'incidence' is the angular difference between the chord line of a wing or stabiliser and some datum. It has nothing to do with your radio. The wings on your model may have 'incidence', but you will have to measure the rigging angles of the thing against some external datum to find out. It seems that you are confusing 'incidence' with 'exponential' which is something your radio can do, and it simply adjusts the amount of reaction from the servo arm per each degree of control stick movement, such that the servo movement is no longer proportional.
Evan, WB #12.
pimmnz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:45 AM
  #3
tlojak38
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: question about my 4 star60

Ok, you are correct, I did get the two confused. But thanks for explaining it to me. I'm new to "setting up " a plane, and I'm getting terms confused. I think I have all control surfaces correct now, and hi, low rates set up. Thanks for the help. Todd
tlojak38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 02:43 PM
  #4
Campgems
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 4,465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: question about my 4 star60

Todd, it would be a good thing to get an experienced guy that is familiar with your TX and have them show you how to setup the Expo. A lot of the older guys told me that " you need to learn to fly without it" Thats a pile of B.S. You got it, use it. If one of your experienced guys tells you that, thank them and go find someone else.

The reason though that I suggest someone that is fimilar with your radio is that different brand radios define positive and negitive expo different. Your goal is to soften the movement around center, and harden it the more stick you give. Dual rates go hand in hand with expo. You want a high and low rate setup, each with its throw limits and expo. Early flights should be done on the low rate, large expo settings untill you get the feel of the plane, then you can start dialing in more throws and firmer sticks.

By the way, the 4*60 is a great flying plane.I've had two of them.I suggest that you NOT use the steel landing gear screws though. Qty 4 of #10 nylon screws or three 1/4" nylon screws will save you some repair time after your early landings. The landing gear mounting plate is not very stout, so screws that shear off before ripping the mount out is a good idea. If you ran off the runway at our field, and snagged a wheel in a goppher hole, the nylon scrws would save the day.

Don
Campgems is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 05:12 PM
  #5
tlojak38
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 324
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: question about my 4 star60

Thanks Don. I have an idea who I want to talk to, but I think only one guy uses spektrum, and its a new dx8, so I don't think he knows too much about my dx7. But ill check around and see what I can find.
tlojak38 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 05:32 PM
  #6
Campgems
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 4,465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: question about my 4 star60

The DX8 guy will most likely be able to help A Futaba guy (Me) won't as the programing steps are quite different although the end results are the same.

Good luck with it and let us kow how It's working out. Just a thought, you might ask on the RC Radios forum. This isn't unique to the 4*60 so you should get a ton of hits over there.

Good luck

Don
Campgems is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:44 PM.