Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

All about Gamma (or k if you want)

Hi All,
    Unfortunately I'm not an aero engineer (yet), but that is where my passion is. I've been studying some notes I have from my Aero/Thermo class, and taking other classes related to aerodynamics. I am not one to 'just accept' the use of equations, so I've been spending some time to try to understand, in English, (gamma-1)/gamma.

I think this is the most interesting thing I've ever studied in 2+ degrees of college and a number of jobs. So I was driving home from work yesterday thinking about this, and thought of a pressure cooker. Here is what I came up with:

Gamma (ratio of specific heats) is basically showing the percentage of energy that goes to volumetric expansion of the gas when heated, so it takes more energy to heat a gas at constant pressure than at constant volume (hence the pressure cooker - if gamma=1.4, then it takes 40% more energy to heat the same air to the same temperature in an open pot).

(gamma-1)/gamma seems to me like a ratio of the (energy of expansion) to the (energy to raise temperature), or energy absorbed by the gas.

I think (gamma-1)/gamma comes up first as a way to equate total temperature to Mach number. I came up with the idea that Mach number is like the ratio of (kinetic energy of a moving gas) over something like the (expansion energy of the gas at that temperature), or the kinetic energy associated with pressure wave propagation. If the gas is moving with same kinetic energy associated with a pressure disturbance, M=1.