Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

CP Versus CG Where are the Topics?

Community
Search
Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

CP Versus CG Where are the Topics?

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2004, 11:25 PM
Dave the RcFlyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CP Versus CG Where are the Topics?

Ok I'm new to rc but not to model rocketry where I've dabbled a bit in the mathmatics of CP (Center of Pressure) and CG calculation. In model rocketry the placement of CG and CP are quintessential to the stability of your model. Is this not the case with model airplanes? I understand that there may be different areas of CP versus CG (E.g. Wing, fusalage, total airplane) yet I see no topics about placement of these. Maybe they're termed differently than in model rocketry so don't flame me if it is. [link=http://www.apogeerockets.com/education/newsletter18.asp]Here[/link] is a link to a good explanation to how CP and CG are in relationship to each other along with Barrowman's Stability equation.

Ps. If I can get a hold of the .net software runtimes that are supposed to be comming I'm going to code a program to take the guesswork out of cp calculation. much more acurate that that pesky cardboard method. PM me if your interested.
Old 06-01-2004, 02:29 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
Default RE: CP Versus CG Where are the Topics?