Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Making control surfaces?

Community
Search
Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Making control surfaces?

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2007, 08:08 PM
22Ryan22

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Making control surfaces?

hey guys. I was just wondering if I could take my weekend-flier Nexstar to a whole new level. Let me first explain that I KNOW that it is a TRAINER, and that i AM not a newbie. I REALIZE that the PLANE was MADE to TEACH people how to fly, and not do ACROBATICS. however, i believe that this little plane is capeable of much more. I have adjsted all the throws to get the maximum deflection that is possible, and trust me, I can handle acrobatics!

My question is: is it possible to successfully make control surface extentions with perhaps a sheet of thick lexan? I was considering extending the control surfaces so they further impact the flight characteristics of the plane. I know that i would have to adjust the cg and all other balencing of the plane, but is there any way to make extentions easily????

thanks, Ryan
Old 02-02-2007, 09:15 AM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Making control surfaces?

We used to cut stiff paper, very stiff paper, and tape it to the control surface we were testing. It worked like gangbusters for the tests. It worked for 125mph CL combat stabilators on models pulling 10X the g's RC airplanes pull.

That'd be for initial tests. And I'd suggest you do some testing first. It takes more than larger surfaces to change the personality of most models.
Old 02-02-2007, 09:20 AM
da Rock

Oh yeah.........