Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Raising stall speed?

Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Raising stall speed?

Old 09-12-2009, 10:45 PM
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Raising stall speed?

Ok, this is going to sound a little odd. I am a flight instructor with our local club. It seems almost everyone is learning to land right now. I have one student and his father (who are both learning together) that have a Nextstar trainer. Now the problem is, this particular plane of theirs, has to be very slow, I mean really, really slow, before it stalls. I would like to raise the stall speed slightly so it opens up the stall envelope a little. This is mainly an issue when perfectly calm.
My idea is to raise both ailerons slightly. Maybe 1/8" to see if this will have an effect at reducing lift. Another idea maybe to add positive incidence to the wing. The latter would be more difficult. Honestly I am just throwing this out and have not pondered it much (I am being a little lazy).
I have been flying for 25 years and am involved in many types of flying from pylon to scale. This airplane is very hard to get slow enough to stall. I look forward to ideas on this.
Old 09-12-2009, 10:49 PM
brad59
My Feedback: (32)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Raising stall speed?

Just make it heavier...
Old 09-13-2009, 02:48 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

Adding incidence will just require more down trim to get the trim back with no other changes. Not a good idea.

The reflexing of the ailerons may or may not help. I suspect that any change would be minimal or unnoticable.

Adding weight is the best option but it'll affect a lot of other stuff as well. You may have to live with just flying it nose high until it stalls.