RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Aerodynamics (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/aerodynamics-76/)
-   -   question about my 4 star60 (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/aerodynamics-76/11082959-question-about-my-4-star60.html)

tlojak38 05-16-2012 06:57 AM

question about my 4 star60

Hello all. Please don't laugh if I don't ask this question correctly. I'm new to aerodynamics. Ok here it goes. I'm setting up hi and low range on my dx7. Now, on the instruction video I watched on YouTube, he started talking about putting in incidence. When I went in to the dx7, it gave me the option of linear, or to put a degree of incidence. My question is, are my wings on the Sig linear, or what degree of incidence do I have, and how does that affect the sweep of the Servos? How might I figure out incidence, so I don't have to keep asking on here. Thanks for any help. Todd

pimmnz 05-16-2012 09:54 AM

RE: question about my 4 star60

The generally accepted definition of 'incidence' is the angular difference between the chord line of a wing or stabiliser and some datum. It has nothing to do with your radio. The wings on your model may have 'incidence', but you will have to measure the rigging angles of the thing against some external datum to find out. It seems that you are confusing 'incidence' with 'exponential' which is something your radio can do, and it simply adjusts the amount of reaction from the servo arm per each degree of control stick movement, such that the servo movement is no longer proportional.
Evan, WB #12.

tlojak38 05-16-2012 11:45 AM

Ok, you are correct, I did get the two confused. But thanks for explaining it to me. I'm new to "setting up " a plane, and I'm getting terms confused. I think I have all control surfaces correct now, and hi, low rates set up. Thanks for the help. Todd

Campgems 05-16-2012 02:43 PM