RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Aerodynamics (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/aerodynamics-76/)
-   -   do ailerons provide lift? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/aerodynamics-76/11362377-do-ailerons-provide-lift.html)

rmh 01-12-2013 10:22 AM

RE: do ailerons provide lift?

ORIGINAL: GaryHarris

And the consensus is?
Of course ailerons lift if you want em to

eddieC 01-12-2013 01:49 PM

<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0);">And the consensus is? </span>
<div>
</div><div>Yes !</div>

cubkadet 01-12-2013 06:19 PM

hi guys i am a newbie here trying to figure out how to post a new thread i guess thats what they call it.any help would be greatly appreciated.

sensei 01-12-2013 07:28 PM

ORIGINAL: chuckaluck

hi guys i am a newbie here trying to figure out how to post a new thread i guess thats what they call it.any help would be greatly appreciated.
Welcome Chuckaluck.:D

Bob

ovationdave 01-12-2013 08:32 PM

ORIGINAL: sensei

Guys this is not rocket science, unless you are using a semi symmetrical airfoil then a positive AOA is required to produce lift and that is certainly no front page news.

Bob
Ok, I don't understand this comment (that is not to say its wrong, but please explain). It seems to me, that a wing with a SYMMETRICAL airfoil would produce no lift w/o a postive AOA. But a semi-semmetrical, or a flat-bottom wing does produce lift, even with a zero-degree AOA. All of the afore mentioned airfoils increase lift with a + AOA, but I am not understanding how it would be "required" to have a positive AOA to achieve lift?

~Dave

rmh 01-12-2013 08:46 PM

I think someone just made a mistake
AOA is sometimes misunderstood
some think the bottom of those flat bottomed things is the Zero line .

eddieC 01-13-2013 02:09 AM

<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0);"> But a semi-semmetrical, or a flat-bottom wing does produce lift, even with a zero-degree AOA</span>
<div>