Aeroworks Vendor Forum This is the place to go for all your questions concerning anything Aeroworks. Rocco, Mark, and the rest of the Aeroworks staff will be manning this forum so that they can answer all your questions.

30cc Edge 540 build

Closed Thread
Old 01-30-2012, 11:35 AM
  #376
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

 Can't seem to get my bottom two cowling bolts to thread on. I guess I need to knock the blind nuts out and put new ones in. Does anybody know where to buy them? Other than that a great build. Should be flying by this weekend!
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:42 PM
  #377
Estang
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build



Try running a 4-40 tap through them to clean out the threads first. I had to do that on a few on mine over the weekend. I could not get one of the bolts to hold the tail in.

Estang is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 04:50 AM
  #378
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build



Dumb question I am sure but I have a futaba 7c in this plane. How should I wire my opti kill switch in?
Thanks
Jeff

jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 08:39 AM
  #379
Estang
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Y adaptor with the RX Batt on CH 7 or which ever is not used.
Estang is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 11:33 AM
  #380
bemeson
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 266
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Estang

Y adaptor with the RX Batt on CH 7 or which ever is not used.
Don't y anything. It dramatically drops amps for your battery. Use the throttle closing as your kill. Otherwise use a radio with more channels and use an open channel. I guess I will reword this. If you are using high quality digital servos do not y. If you are using analogs you may be good. If you bought this plane it's worth while to speed good money on digitalis.

Brian
bemeson is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 03:42 PM
  #381
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

I am using all digital servos. Don't think I want to buy a new tx and rx right now. The guys at the field were giving me a pretty hard time about not having and opti kill switch.
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 06:16 PM
  #382
bemeson
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 266
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

If you set up your throttle correctly, it will kill the motor upon using your throttle kill switch on your tranmitter. Your backup is the switch that controls your battery for the ignition. That is all you need. Its up to you.
Brian
bemeson is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 07:25 PM
  #383
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Thanks. Thats what I did. Seems to work great. Too windy to fly so I just tuned the engine up. What do you recommend c.g. wise for the maiden?
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 09:15 PM
  #384
Estang
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Is the Battery rail not common to all the channels? If so, by using a “Y” adaptor on the Battery and the Opti-Kill not the same electrical point as if using a free channel? The voltage drop across the “Y” adaptor would be the same as if you plugged the Opti-Kill into an empty channel?

I agree not to plug 2 Digital servos in with a “Y” adaptor because you are splitting the signal, but the battery pack has no signal lead so that should not be a problem.



 

I might be way out in left field on this, but just my take on it.
Estang is offline  
Old 02-07-2012, 07:11 PM
  #385
Estang
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

I am running 5x 5645MG and a 645MG analog on the throtle. will a 2300 NiMh battery be enough for the RX? This will be my first time running Digital servos and i hear they are power pigs.

My second option would be to run a second 2300 NiMh to a free channel on the RX.
Sooner or later I am going to have to break down and get a good Lipo charger and a regular.
Estang is offline  
Old 02-07-2012, 07:18 PM
  #386
bemeson
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 266
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Jeff,
Set the plane up per AW instructions and use the CG buddy. It is a great starting point for the plane. Make sure you set up the expo per their instructions and make sure its correct. I have flown mine over 300 flights and its exactly where the suggested CG is or just slightly aft.

Brian
bemeson is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 04:12 AM
  #387
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Brian,
300 flights thats great. I was curious about the c.g. because for some reason mine is balancing a little different than the others on this thread. Mine is still balancing slightly nose heavy with the battery next to the rx. Cf spinner and xoar prop. I have a 2000ma nimh 4c in the nose for ignition and a 2000ma 5c for rx.
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 03:01 PM
  #388
bemeson
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 266
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

As long as its not real nose heavy, it will be okay. Not sure why yours came out a tad nose heavy with your battery placement, but photos could help. If you saw where my batteries were, they were near the fuel tank for reciever and I had a battery on the side of the engine box. The other side of the engine box was the igntion. Pictures are worth a thousand words.

Just sayin

Brian
bemeson is offline  
Old 02-08-2012, 04:27 PM
  #389
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

I figured it out. I used washers for engine spacing instead of fabricating spacers so I bet that is the added weight. Didn't think about that till  now.
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 06:40 AM
  #390
Estang
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Sure, blame the washer   I used the single bolt adaptor from vally view and did not need spacers. Mine is sitting level with the battery beside the RX. Cables are all laced in and camera is on charge.

I used servo arms and pull pull setup from ScCraft. It is looking good. Com'n Spring
Estang is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 04:52 PM
  #391
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

I'm going to have to check on the single bolt adapters you are talking about might save some weight. I ran into one more problem the transfer tape isn't long enough for the wing decals. Going to be a no good cold and windy weekend here so no rush.
Jeff
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 09:13 PM
  #392
Estang
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 135
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

http://www.valleyviewrc.com/estore/d...er-dle-30.html

here is the link to the prop adaptor
Estang is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 05:22 PM
  #393
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Changed my washers for someplywood spacers. Much better and balances better. Maiden tomorrow.
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 02-17-2012, 05:06 PM
  #394
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Maiden today! Two flights then ran out of daylight. Flies great. Can't wait to get it in the air again. Dle 30 ran perfect.
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:07 AM
  #395
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

so which aluminum spinner do i need to fit the 18x8 to 20x8 props?  Thanks, Jeremy
mach2 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 09:20 AM
  #396
stevehookem
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

I use a Tru Turn 2.75", drilled for DLE 30 and cut for a XOAR 19x8. I think most here have found that prop to be the best for the DLE 30 on this plane.

Call or email Amanda at Tru Turn (amanda@truturn.com) and they will make you the spinner to order.
stevehookem is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 07:41 PM
  #397
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

cool. thanks. Does it about double the price?
mach2 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 04:59 PM
  #398
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

nevermind. I  found that AW sells them for 50 bucks. thats not bad to not have to deal with the hassle of cutting it out and making it look nice and even on each side. I had to cut the spinner for my DLE20 for the 17x6. It wasnt hard, but there also wasnt as much material that needed to be removed.
mach2 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:55 AM
  #399
stevehookem
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Sorry for the delay. I am here in Houston so they give a discount for cash and pick-up. My spinner was $40 after the discount. Can't beat it!

And $50 is still less than most CF spinners. I have always used Tru Turn and have never been anything but amazed at the quality of their work. They are artists with aluminum!
stevehookem is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 01:40 AM
  #400
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

I like the looks of aluminum spinner over the CF  anyway. Thanks,
mach2 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:03 PM.