Aeroworks Vendor Forum This is the place to go for all your questions concerning anything Aeroworks. Rocco, Mark, and the rest of the Aeroworks staff will be manning this forum so that they can answer all your questions.

30cc Edge 540 build

Closed Thread
Old 01-28-2013, 04:58 AM
  #501
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Towers

hey guys, this is my first gasser but i have a little problem, I live in Bogotá (2600 meters above sea level) and I was concerned about the 30cc performance at this altitude. Asked around local hobby people and said this airframe with a 30cc would not give full performance, basic aerobatics and thats it. So I decided to buy a DLE 55cc for it, hoping it would give the plane the power it needs for hover and more demanding/power aerobatics.

I know that its suicidal to full power the plane (maybe on a vertical) with that engine I rarely fly full throttle on any of my planes anyway, so thats out of the warning list.

Does anyone knows someone who has mounted a 50cc on a 30cc airframe? Should I reinforce the firewall? landing gear? Any advice at all?

Thanx for any response!!!

Unfortunately I think the 55 will make the wing loading on that plane to heavy. You will be adding about 1.5lbs or more with the prop and bigger tank. There are quit a few engines available in the 35cc range. I know bemeson fly's his at high elevation and will be able to give you some ideas.

Good luck,
Jeff
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:57 AM
  #502
bemeson
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 266
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

I can tell you that I live at 5900 feet and the pull out and verticle are geat with the DLE30. Putting a 55 on this plane is a huge mistake and it will not fly well with all that added weight. The plane as I built it came out at 10.75 pounds.
Brian
bemeson is offline  
Old 01-28-2013, 08:19 AM
  #503
Jeff Worsham
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Last week, just did the maiden with mine (at 5,000' elev) with the OS 33 and stock muffler and it's got plenty of power already and that's with an 18-8 break-in prop and 20:1 break-in mix. If it were me, I think I'd try something like the OS33 (or maybe the new DA35) on a pipe before thinking about a 50cc motor on this size plane. By the time you get it balanced with a 50-55cc, wing loading will be astronimcal for the 8500' elev at Bogota.
Jeff Worsham is offline  
Old 02-11-2013, 11:58 AM
  #504
Towers
 
Towers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bogota, COLOMBIA
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Hey Guys thanks! You guys helped me very much! im gonna take those things into account and make this thing fly!!! thanks again!
Towers is offline  
Old 03-14-2013, 08:12 PM
  #505
kraftchick
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , NC
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Just ordered the AW 30cc Edge 540....my first gasser and plane over .46 size glow...looking forward to it!!!
kraftchick is offline  
Old 03-14-2013, 08:26 PM
  #506
Jeff Worsham
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

You're gunna love how it flys!
Jeff Worsham is offline  
Old 03-14-2013, 08:53 PM
  #507
kerwin50
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston, MO
Posts: 1,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Yeah for a good 3D plane wing loading is everything. Back in the 80's and 90's I was flying cap and extra's at the time. now while they had plenty of power to hover, they were very snap happy if you pulled to hard on the elevator. Walls, harriers and all that really good 3D stuff was impossible because the were just to heavy.
kerwin50 is offline  
Old 05-05-2013, 11:23 AM
  #508
stevehookem
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Just purchased a new 540T with OS 33 GT, Smartfly Sport Plus system, 2 Lipos for receiver, Futaba R617FS receiver (selling), Opti-Kill, All Hitec 5645MG servos and wing bags and more for $700. Very happy with the deal!
Two shakedown flights done. More pics to come!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu62063.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	101.1 KB
ID:	1879359   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up49176.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	110.4 KB
ID:	1879360   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw57019.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	58.8 KB
ID:	1879361   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fz74182.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	69.0 KB
ID:	1879362  
stevehookem is offline  
Old 05-05-2013, 11:49 AM
  #509
airborne2.4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Freeport, BAHAMAS
Posts: 1,174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Maaaann this one sweet looking bird!!!! Do ya have a video of the shakedown?
airborne2.4 is offline  
Old 05-05-2013, 04:28 PM
  #510
stevehookem
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build


Quote:
ORIGINAL: airborne2.4

Maaaann this one sweet looking bird!!!! Do ya have a video of the shakedown?
Thanks! I had the 30cc Extra until a complete radio brown-out destroyed it. Aeroworks makes GREAT flying planes!

THe shakedown was done by the original builder. He finished it, and put it up for sale immediately because he needed money. I wanted to see it run and fly before committing even though I would have taken it anyway! At $700, with this level of electronics and engine, was too good to pass up. DIdn't get a video. Wish I had....

stevehookem is offline  
Old 05-07-2013, 01:18 PM
  #511
noofly
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New MilfordConnecticut
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Maidened my Edge 540 with a DLE 30 yesterday. What a sweet flying machine !!!

I think I have to adjust the needles a little, lots of spitting at the high end but the DLE didnt quit and started right up the first time.

Love it !

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh14993.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	183.8 KB
ID:	1880015  
noofly is offline  
Old 05-18-2013, 07:30 AM
  #512
stevehookem
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

When I bought my edge RTF above, I also purchased a new kit version as a backup. Working on it now.... Another question:

I'm having an issue with my RTF version. If you look at my post above, it came with a Power System Sport Plus installed. I've never used this before and it seems like a little overkill for a 30cc plane. However, I like the optical kill on it. I noticed something today that I hadn't noticed before the two shakedown flights. It was probably happening but I just didn't see it.

When I move a transmitter stick to the full end point, the servo continues to move slightly after I hit the end. Every servo does this. This plane came with a Futaba receiver and was flown for me using that receiver and Futaba transmitter. I have now switched out to my Spektrum AR8000 receiver and the servos are doing this. Is this something that is part of the Sport Fly system? I have all Hitec 5645MG servos. I have tried reaching the former owner to ask but he is out of the country. I don't want to fly if this is something that needs to be addressed.

Thoughts?
stevehookem is offline  
Old 07-14-2013, 11:13 AM
  #513
Towers
 
Towers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bogota, COLOMBIA
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Hi Guys, I posted here a while ago, asking about putting a DLE55cc on this plane (because the altitude here at Bogotá, 3600m above sea level). I couldnt sleep thinking what to do lol. But then, I met a guy who had this plane with a 50cc twin and said he had a 30cc on it but wasn't enough for the plane. And met another guy who did the same but with a DLE55cc. So I went with the 55cc. I want to be clear I read your opinions and thought about them! but I always had the same problem, I put up a plane exactly as the ones I see on videos and forums and when i try to do it here, they have almost half of the power I expected. So thanx for your comments and advice!

So I built it with the 55cc little mods no big deal, except for the balance haha I put the rx LiFe far back and solved the issue. Last sunday I took it for the first flight and wanted to share a vid with you guys. Ill be posting more while i get more flights with it! Thanx again!

https://vimeo.com/70285122
Towers is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 01:34 PM
  #514
ShuttleAU
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Hi

Nice video.

BC
ShuttleAU is offline  
Old 07-20-2013, 04:18 AM
  #515
Jeff Worsham
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Thanks for the video and great job on the plane! (Very nice flying site there as well!) What is the weight with DLE 55?
Jeff Worsham is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 03:11 AM
  #516
airborne2.4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Freeport, BAHAMAS
Posts: 1,174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Could it be that the 55 is too heavy which why you're having landings?
airborne2.4 is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 07:27 AM
  #517
bemeson
 
bemeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PARKER, CO
Posts: 266
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

You are nuts as that plane will not last long with out serious throttle management as it was designed for a 30. I live at 5900 ASL and my plane had a 30cc it had tons of power at this altitude. Someone gave you bogus info. Just a reminder to you as as Aeroworks is here in Colorado and we are at a 5000 feet high and all the planes are test flown here. The plane plane was built to fly at 10 to 11 pounds and anything more makes it fly heavy and not agile. A 35 cc motor would work much better. Good luck with you v8 powered volkswagen

Brian
bemeson is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:11 AM
  #518
jchorsejeff
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: weatherford, TX
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

The guys that recommended the 55 owe you an apology. That landing gear is never going to hold up. Get the dle-35 and the plane will last you much longer and fly better.
jchorsejeff is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 02:22 PM
  #519
airborne2.4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Freeport, BAHAMAS
Posts: 1,174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Guys, lets hope he listens before it's too late.
airborne2.4 is offline  
Old 07-22-2013, 08:06 AM
  #520
gibatta
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: La Paz, BOLIVIA
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Hello Colombia:

Nice flight, have you tried to Hover that Plane?, how heavy is it? (I am living in La Paz, witch is 14 feet above sea level...
gibatta is offline  
Old 07-22-2013, 08:08 AM
  #521
gibatta
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: La Paz, BOLIVIA
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

sorry meant 14000 feet (4000 m.a.s.l)
gibatta is offline  
Old 07-22-2013, 10:06 PM
  #522
Towers
 
Towers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bogota, COLOMBIA
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Hello! Ive read all of your comments I'm glad you took the time to see the vid and comment! But trust me, things here at 11,800ft above sea level are sooo different from what planes/engines are designed-made-adviced on the internet. And you can be sure i've made everything to make my planes to fly as advertised on promotional videos, and i've been repairing many times because when I needed power (and the oxygen), it just not enough. I know its against all advice (from manufactures), but i rarely fly full throttle and im sure im not pulling high G's on this already stressed airframe. I just need a plane that has the power to take me out of my mistakes without having to make epoxy every month.

The landings have to be a little fast to avoid any drop, and yes I've didn't make the best landings (my bad), but taking into account I waited 1 year to complete this plane, my first gasser ever, that they where my first 3 landings and I was nervous as hell, I felt they were acceptable hahaha. I was really nervous about the landing gear and the firewall, but on this session they both held very good. Checked them after flight no problems, until now.

The other thing is that on forums I haven't found any about high altitude above sea level flying, so i'm pretty much on the dark side here, there are a lot of forums based on almost perfect efficiency levels, and sadly isnt my case! I thought that I may take a risk (a high one) and if I can help anyone that may be thinking something similar based on my experience Ill be happy. And guys, isnt that one of the best things in the hobby helping each other?

GIBATTA: Oh god La Paz???? even soccer players are half efficient up there! hahaha

Well the maiden day I only had 4 flights, and they where basically for testing. How the glue joints hold, screws, firewall, landing gear, etc. So I didnt make any flying pattern rather than circles and some rolls. On my next session I will have it do some aerobatics and possibly a hover. If it does not hover, my super 55cc plan would be a complete failure. So I will keep you guys posted!

Once again, thanks for the comments and advice! Any questions just ask!

(By the way, am sorry to be such a newbie here, but can anyone tell me how to post pictures here hahaha... I can put a 50cc on a 30, but not enough to upload a pic!!)
Towers is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 03:22 AM
  #523
noofly
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New MilfordConnecticut
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

On two occasions now the wing bolts have come loose. I usually hand tighten it without crushing the wood and do have the supplied tension washer on it. Anybody else have this problem ?

Also removing the pins for the wings without breaking something is like doing surgery. Any ideas on making that easier ?
noofly is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 09:14 AM
  #524
gibatta
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: La Paz, BOLIVIA
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Greetings from La Paz Mr. Towers !!

I can bet 10 to 1 that you may be able to hover it; just use a 22x10 prop (better if you can use 23x8), by the way; how is that you solved using that kind of diameter prop ? did you change the stock landing gears? and please what is the final weight (dry) of your airplane. Happens that I will be using same plane with an OS 55 GT

Please keep us posted
gibatta is offline  
Old 07-23-2013, 05:42 PM
  #525
Towers
 
Towers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bogota, COLOMBIA
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 30cc Edge 540 build

Well Gibatta lets hope it hovers!!!

I am currently using a 22x8 Zinger wood prop because the clearance to the ground. I have the stock landing gear. With this prop I get (static) +- 6cm of clearance. I think that with some speed it reduces to 3 or 4 cm. So far on the landings and take offs the prop has never hit the ground.

About the weight... I don't have a digital weight but on the analog one it comes a little over 15lbs. As soon as I have a better measurement Ill post it!

I installed a Wrap Around muffler on it, it weights more than the stock, but I preferred that just for the looks of it. Both options meant a big cutout on the cowl anyway. Im not using spinner right now and kept the stock tank. The plane its pretty much stock, the only thing is that I had to put the rx pack far back on the fuselage and the ignition battery next to the rx, behind the wing tube.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge96594.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	74.3 KB
ID:	1903434   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fa85324.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	1903435   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yd83304.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	1903436   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bv59362.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	83.7 KB
ID:	1903437   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wh57137.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	1903438  

Towers is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:34 PM.