Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 34 of 44 FirstFirst ... 243233343536 ... LastLast
Results 826 to 850 of 1083

  1. #826
    WickedWaggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wilson, NC
    Posts
    32
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?


    ORIGINAL: GPutt33

    All I can say is someone better be looking at getting another one or two milling machines ready.

    Protect your product from copy cats as soon as you can if you haven't started the process already.

    I am privileged enough to work somewhere that has a patent attorney in their back pocket. Honestly, I could never cost justify patenting this idea. It's honestly only a block that has been lightened and has had the correct hole pattern drilled in it. If somebody wants to copy it there is really nothing I can do to stop them. I can assure you, there is no other way to make money on them, I'm basically breaking even on a good day, and lately I have been smashing endmills into parts, which is not good for my bottom line.

    But, I love making stuff that works, something that someone can appreciate the work that goes into it. I know I did them first, and if somebody copies it I'll just throw eggs at them or something..

  2. #827

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Springdale, AR
    Posts
    2,573
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Check with your attorney, Patent reform is coming very soon! One of the very few things the Obama admin. is going to do right.[X(]
    "Go low if you wanna make a show"
    P-40 Brotherhood #49
    Jimmy

  3. #828
    wfield0455's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Holliston, MA
    Posts
    366
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    After flying my P-51 this weekend I noticed that the canopy appeared slightly cocked. Closer inspection revealed that the anchor point (for lack of better description) that slides in the rail at the aft of the canopy was gone. Has this happened to anyone else and if so, how did you fix it?

    Wayne

    Wayne

  4. #829

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    St.Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    165
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Wayne.

    Yes, same thing on my first flight or two. I lost the piece that broke off, so I epoxied in a piece of wood and then installed a screw whose head fitted inside the rail channel. A little trial and error to get exactly how far to the screw needs to be screwed into the wood to get the clearance right. A drop or two of thin CA on the screw to keep it from vibrating loose. HTH

    sp

  5. #830
    wfield0455's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Holliston, MA
    Posts
    366
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    I'll give that a try.

    Thanks
    Wayne

    Wayne

  6. #831

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    St.Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    165
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Since some AW P-51 owners are replacing original retracts, I'd like to relate my experience with Down & Locked.

    I had D&L convert my Sierra Giant Scale mains to electric operation. They did great work and had them back when they said they would. D&L customer service is second to none. Mitch called me when they received my gear and took the time to explain all the options and made sure I was getting exactly what I needed.

    When I had the gear installed, I managed to do stupid, (a specialty of mine), and damaged the gear and control box electrically. I sent them back to D&L for repair. Even though the problem was 100% my fault, Mitch and Ron fixed them and only charged me labor. And at a very reasonable rate too. I was blown away by their great customer service. By rights they could have charged me full price for my mistake, but they went the extra mile and gave me a huge break.

    So if you are considering the D&L electric conversion for your retracts, original or replacement, you can't find a better bunch to work with. Great craftsmanship, excellent customer service and a couple of real nice guys. You won't be sorry you went for it if you have the conversion done.


    sp

  7. #832
    tom2bell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    aurora, CO
    Posts
    135
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Hello all
    I flew my P51 last week end and had 2 realy nice flights every thing worked great. I also flew her at the MAS http://www.miniatureaerosportsters.org/
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ay75255.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	24.9 KB 
ID:	1652855   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Yt61314.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	52.4 KB 
ID:	1652856  

  8. #833

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    LavalQuebec, CANADA
    Posts
    102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Just a note. Does anyone know if Down and Locked are still around?
    I wrote them a couple of times and I got no answer.
    They converted my gear and is going on 5 weeks now.
    I was just wondering.

    Cheers

  9. #834

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Mill Spring, NC
    Posts
    94
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?


    ORIGINAL: Zorba1

    Just a note. Does anyone know if Down and Locked are still around?
    I wrote them a couple of times and I got no answer.
    They converted my gear and is going on 5 weeks now.
    I was just wondering.

    Cheers
    Hi Zorba1 yes we are still in business and I am not sure what you mean by 5 weeks could you please call at 828-817-0412 or email to dandlretracts@yahoo.com I have not received any emails that we do not respond to so if you have written to us and did not get a response we did not receive your email. Thanks Mitch Stott
    Mitch Stott Co-owner Down And Locked
    www.downandlocked.com

  10. #835

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    LavalQuebec, CANADA
    Posts
    102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Hi Mitch. Ron got in touch with me and he said that the gear is shipped.
    My apologies.
    It looks like my emails never got to you.

    Everything is cool
    Cheers

  11. #836
    ottrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    214
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?


    ORIGINAL: tom2bell

    Hello all
    I flew my P51 last week end and had 2 realy nice flights every thing worked great. I also flew her at the MAS http://www.miniatureaerosportsters.org/
    LOOKS SWEET !!!

    Nice to see some flying pics - thanks for sharing :-)

    Keith

  12. #837

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Springdale, AR
    Posts
    2,573
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Well, six weeks after the Mustang went down without power, I have gotten around to fixin her up and shes ready to go another round...I had to remove the inner gear doors since they didnt survive the skid in the rough landing, but everything else came out in good condition. The cockpit did come lose but easy to fix as well. So, shes ready to go again I am looking forward to get my fifth flight on this plane...one of the best flyers I have owned

    Jimmy
    "Go low if you wanna make a show"
    P-40 Brotherhood #49
    Jimmy

  13. #838
    rslstft's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    367
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    I have one for you guys with this plane. I have about 15 flights or so now on my P-51 and have her all sorted out, no problems now that I changed to Sierra gear. Nice to have a plane that I can just go fly now, need to get some more time on the DA50, but she's breaking in nicely. Anyway, I've noticed since the plane was new, when I'm taxing out to take off, the inner gear doors will sometimes cycle! Maybe not at all, maybe once or maybe several times. There seems to be no common underlying reason. It never does it in the air and again, not after I land. There weird thing is, the gear don't try to cycle, just the inner doors. I've changed servos on the valves, but am using the original sequencer. I'm running 2.4 radio not that should matter. Not sure if it's a vibration thing, some sort of interference affecting the sequencer or what. Not too alarmed, but it does cause me a little concern. Any ideas?
    Russ

  14. #839
    Zeeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Highland Utah UT
    Posts
    3,757
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Oh I hate crap like that.... []

    First call I'd make is to Jetronics about the sequencer. I've never had a retract model but they seem to have a pretty good reputation.

    Next is more fuzzy; which 2.4GHz radio? If it's a JR/Spektrum then a close look at the Flight Log for RF issues is in order. If it's another radio brand that's out. So you start looking at electrical issues and while it's not common to have just one control (there's usually several) go haywire, if there are any loose sparks between the engine ignition module and the sparkplug there will be issues even with 2.4GHz. Next up might be the question of whether or not you have any Y-harnesses in there? I see more and more guys having issues trying to use Y-harnesses with the new radios. Try changing out any servo lead extension/s between the rx and the sequencer. If you're feeling ambitious and it'll do it while sitting, you could disconnect the gear door servo from the sequencer and hook up another servo, see if it cycles?

    There is also an issue with the JR/Spektrum radios when using a tx/rx which can run in 2048 resolution and analog servos, but that relates to uncommanded servo movement when the rx is first turned on and it is the reason I'm going to digital servos on mine. I've never heard of the issue with an rx once it's booted up and linked to the tx.

    Don't know if any of that sounds worth checking to you but I was just sitting here thinking about it after I saw the post and figured I'd throw it out....
    Zeeb

  15. #840

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    LavalQuebec, CANADA
    Posts
    102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Thanks for leting us know about your issue with the doors.
    I am changing mine to servos to operate the hatch doors, no air in the system at all. I had my gear converted to electric by D&L.
    I will post the details of the conversion of the doors in a couple of days.

    Cheers

  16. #841
    rslstft's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    367
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Thanks guys. I am running JR 2.4, but am running 2 Li batteries for the receiver regulated down to 6.0v. My flight log recorder has never had a count higher than 3-4 on the main or satellite receivers, and the voltage has not dropped below the regulated 6v. No Y-harnesses, hate those things, using a 12 channel receiver with everything on a separate channel, digital servos on all except the air valves and throttle. The doors did the same thing when I had the stock air valve servos in the plane and the sequencer is plugged directly into the receiver. Am thinking of trying a different sequencer, so..........?
    Just seems weird it only does it BEFORE taking off and never in the air of after.
    Russ

  17. #842
    Zeeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Highland Utah UT
    Posts
    3,757
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Okay I'm guessing it's a DSM2 and not DSMX and that you've not had any flashing rx lights indicating a power problem?

    Got another idea although I'm not sure how it might work. The issue with the analog servos and the JR/Spektrum 2048 resolution capable rx's is that they put out a pulse in the 700mS range when first turned on and before they go to the bind settings. It's thought this has something to do with the rx deciding if it's going to be running in 2048 resolution or 1024 as the problem does not occur with 1024 only rx's nor with bigger rx's running with a 1024 only tx. Since that pulse in the 700 area is outside the normal servo operating range of 900-2100 some of the analog servos don't like it and some makes are worse than others. e.g. I have one 33% Edge that has an analog servo on the choke, when the rx is first turned on the choke servo closes halfway and then opens when the rx goes to it's bind position settings.

    Some of the guys over on FG actually had big analog servos, in this case Hitec which seems to be the worst, actually pop control surface horns out of the surface when running A123's and big servos. The one I have on my Edge is a Futaba and doesn't seem to be as adversely affected. This is the reason I bought digital servos to replace the ones that come with the Mustang but I'm not to the point of trying them yet, I really didn't want the gear sucking up when the rx was turned on.

    Now here's the thought and question; perhaps you're getting a partial activation on that one servo when the model is first turned on and it's staying there until the thing is cycled? The question I can't figure out is what does the sequencer do with the rx signals? Would it pass them through and cause the issue, or is the sequencer itself not happy with that 700 pulse?

    Does your throttle servo move when you turn on the rx?

    I'm guessing this issue applies to the 12 channel rx's but the problem was noted and chased over on FG by guys using AR9000 and R921 nine channel rx's and my Edge has one of the R921's installed. My JR R1222 PowerSafe rx is installed in my 2.6 Comp-Arf and I've never seen it there but it has all digitial servos. An R1222 is also what will be going in my Mustang but I'll be running unregulated A123's for battery power.
    Zeeb

  18. #843

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    796
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Hey Russ!

    After you installed the Sierra, and made final adjustments, actually flying 2.4 does matter. As a suggestion to see if the problem goes away, re-bind the plane to the radio, with all switches (flaps up, landing gear down, throttle idles cut off, etc)in their proper positions. When you first turn on a 2.4 radio, it goes to where it was last bound, then goes to the current switch postion. Has to do with failsafe on the radio. If this doesn't solve it, then the seqencer needs adjustments.
    JPO Yearly Member. Retired ATP B-727, HS-125, IA-JET

    AMA Turbine CD Waiver Holder- BVM F-16, CARF-Viper, Flash, Super Extra 3.2M, 44%Giles, Extra 330, 1/8th scale F-18, flying r/c since I was 11 years old.


  19. #844

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Springdale, AR
    Posts
    2,573
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    OK Guys!! Shes running good, retracts hold air forever, and all repairs are made...now for the trip to the field
    "Go low if you wanna make a show"
    P-40 Brotherhood #49
    Jimmy

  20. #845

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Springdale, AR
    Posts
    2,573
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    I love this plane!!!
    "Go low if you wanna make a show"
    P-40 Brotherhood #49
    Jimmy

  21. #846

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    796
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Good Luck Jimmy!!
    JPO Yearly Member. Retired ATP B-727, HS-125, IA-JET

    AMA Turbine CD Waiver Holder- BVM F-16, CARF-Viper, Flash, Super Extra 3.2M, 44%Giles, Extra 330, 1/8th scale F-18, flying r/c since I was 11 years old.


  22. #847

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Springdale, AR
    Posts
    2,573
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Thanks Dan, got ready to roll out yesterday and turned the prop thru in preparation and noticed a low rubbing sound in the engine...turned my other two DA50's the same way and heard nothing!!!![X(] So, no trip to the field but an engine replacement instead. Have a brand new DA50 mounted and the other goes back to DA for inspection. Better safe than sorry and the engine will return with a new bill of health.

    Jimmy
    "Go low if you wanna make a show"
    P-40 Brotherhood #49
    Jimmy

  23. #848

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    LavalQuebec, CANADA
    Posts
    102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    Hi Guys is been quite around here latelly.
    I have a question.
    I am setting up the electronics on my 51.
    When I setup the flaps do I apply any elevator input?
    I know on my Cessna 310 I had to add a bit of elevator or else she would baloon up.
    I am using the Aurora 9 channel.
    Thanks in advance
    Bill

  24. #849

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    new castle, DE
    Posts
    66
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

     getting close to flying mine and was wondering about the fuel tank. does everyone use the stock tank.looks a bit small to me.i usually fly 10-12 mins, but sometimes a little longer in my nitro planes.maybe 12-15 min. i am using the da-50 and was wondering if this is enough witha little safety margin.

  25. #850
    AirWizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Coffeyville, KS
    Posts
    1,228
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Aero Works P-51?

    A DA sips about 1 ounce of fuel per minute
    David
    ____I\'\'m having a Yak Attack_____


Page 34 of 44 FirstFirst ... 243233343536 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:14 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.