Airtronics Support Forum Ask any questions you may have about Airtronics radios and product here and get answers direct from the Airtronics Team.

FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

Reply
Old 01-18-2011, 10:31 PM
  #1
jeffie8696
Thread Starter
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

First of all let me say that Iam a huge fan of my VG6000 , wish Ihad at least 3,,,,maybe 4. but
Ihave been pondering the move to 2.4 and have found the ATX radios listed as FHSS1,2 and 3. Can someone explain the difference between these systems so Ican make a more infomed choice? Iknow the difference between 2.4 systems like DSM2 with its 2 channels and Corona with its 3 and FASST with full frequncy hopping but Idont see much about Airtronics systems. Thanks team.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:52 PM
  #2
aerofly0610
 
aerofly0610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Green Bay , WI
Posts: 402
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

I believe it is a difference in the encoding.  Regardless FHSS - 2 is on a few surface TX/RX sets.  FHSS - 1 and FHSS - 3 are typically for air use.  FHSS - 3 allows for advanced fail safe plus voltage read out of RX on your TX.  FHSS - 1 RX will work on SD 5, SD 6, RDS8000 and SD 10.  I believe FHSS - 3 works only on SD 10.  I had a RDS8000 and really loved it, but I sold it and got a SD 10.  I really really love my SD 10.  I have a SD 5 for a backup/buddy box, but may replace it with either a SD 6 or another SD 10. 
aerofly0610 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:07 PM
  #3
jeffie8696
Thread Starter
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

Can you tell me what kind of systems they use? Multi channel? frequency hopping? Single channel?
I only ask because Iknow some systems have been advertised as frequency hopping but in reality they lock in 1 or more channels and stay there. Iwould prefer a true frequency hopping system that jumps around the whole range like the FASST system. But one that chooses 2 or more channels would be sufficient. Iwould probably avoid a single channel 2.4 radio like the cheap Hobbyking ones.
So FHSS3 has telemetry , right.
Thanks for the help, we are getting some interference at our field from local radio towers and Iwould like to eliminate as much of it as possible.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 05:38 AM
  #4
ArchNemesis
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 246
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

All of the Airtronic's Airplane systems are Frequency hopping, similar to Futuba's Fasst system.  FHSS stands for Frequency Hopping Spread Sprectrum.

The 1,2,3 are simply variants of the encoding.   FHSS-1 was their first true hopping system and is used on the 5,6 and current RDS8000 radios and is also supported by the SD-10G.    FHSS-3 is their newest version, higher resolution (also more expensive), faster, and supports "Safety Link" which allows binding to occur specific to the model memory, rather than just to the TX.  

FHSS-2 is surface only for their car/boat radios.

I have to concur with you... the VG6000 may be one of the best inexpensive radio's ever offered on the market.   Ease of use and feature set was amazing for the price point and well beyond the price point. 

It's a big step up, but you'll be equally blown away by the SD-6 or the even more, the SD-10.  You won't be disappointed.



ArchNemesis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 06:56 AM
  #5
ToddNicholson
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: , WA
Posts: 85
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

In addition, FHSS-3 does not support Telemetry. Sanwa is beginning to get into Telemetry support, but is starting with a new surface radio (MT-4). This radio will use new FHSS-4T (Telemetry) modulation. I am sure that this technology will also find it's way into the an aircraft radio in the future.

-Todd
ToddNicholson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 10:18 AM
  #6
jeffie8696
Thread Starter
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

OK, thats what Ineeded to know.
My flying is done with only 4 and sometimes just 3 channels . Idont have any planes with retracts and some with no ailerons so getting a 5 or 6 channel radio is really a waste. I wish Icould find an inexpensive 4 channel with good features like Expo, end point adjust, multi model memory , digital trims, you know. It seems the manufacturers are focused on adding all the bells and whistles to 6, 7 or 10 channel radios which in my fleet would be a total waste. Iwould rather save the money on additional channels and put it into options.
Thanks for the help.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:15 PM
  #7
MikeGreenshields
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

There's almost no cost difference between a 4 channel and a 6 channel radio in terms of the channels themselves. So, when you guy a 6 channel radio you're not really paying much more for the channels, you're paying more for the functions. Mixing, Expo, EPA, Multi-model memory.

So, for example.
Aero-Sport 5 with Airtronics FHSS1 technology. 5 channels, No Dual rates, no EPA. Radio has servo reversing, v-Tail mixing and delta/elevon mixing. consumer price 60 dollars or so.

Airtronics SD-5G with Airtronics FHSS1 technology. 5 channels, 3 model memory, fixed 70/100 dual rate, motor cut, trainer compatible, ATV on flight controls and EPA on throttle. Digital trims. Price to consumer, about 110 dollars.

Airtronics SD-6G with FHSS1 Technology. High functioning mixing, Expo, Epa's, programmable mixes, helicopter functions, multiple wing types, dual elevator servo mixing, trainer compatible, adjustable dual rates, etc. Consumer price about 170 dollars.

So, you what you paid more for are the very functions you requested. The added channels were not much money.
MikeGreenshields is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:29 PM
  #8
jeffie8696
Thread Starter
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

Ifind it strange that there is not more model memory. Is it just a matter of a bigger memory card? Ican buy a 2 Gig memory stick for like $6.
That would be cool , to have an SD port so you could install a memory card like in your digital camera so you could transfer your setups and add memory so you could put more planes on your radio without buying a new radio. Ihave heard of the new radios haveing PC ports.
But then they would charge so much for the option you could probably afford another radio anyway$$
Ihave almost 20 planes in various stages of completion and being able to put them all on one radio would be nice but I dont need 10 channels.
If my VG6000 would hold them all instead of just 4 Iwould be one happy camper.

Hey Fountain Valley, I used to live in Fountain Valley. Iran the Tire and Lube Express in Westminster on Beach. I miss California.

jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 01:06 PM
  #9
MikeGreenshields
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Posts: 380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

The SD-6G has 10 model memory
If you want expandable memory, you'll need the SD-10G.
MikeGreenshields is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 02:39 PM
  #10
jeffie8696
Thread Starter
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

Yep xactly.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:31 PM
  #11
aerofly0610
 
aerofly0610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Green Bay , WI
Posts: 402
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

If you have the resources to actively fly that many models,, then you can spring for a small bit more to get the SD-10. 
aerofly0610 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:11 AM
  #12
jeffie8696
Thread Starter
 
jeffie8696's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Muscatine, IA
Posts: 5,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FHSS1, 2, 3 4, 5 ,6?????

Long story, but nope.
jeffie8696 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:20 AM.