Airtronics Support Forum Ask any questions you may have about Airtronics radios and product here and get answers direct from the Airtronics Team.

Help with rds 8000

Reply
Old 03-17-2012, 08:05 PM
  #1
unclecrash
Thread Starter
 
unclecrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 1,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help with rds 8000

I am running dual elevators. using the channel 1 and 7 aux 1 I am wondering if it is possible to use Aux 8 to run a dual aileron servo set up using channel 2 and 8 or am I asking too much of this radio. I see no info on this. Like with the dual elevator setup. I have flaps on channel 6 running dual batteries on channel 5 and channel 8 was going to run a y to my 2nd battery and use for the other aileron Thanks Dave
unclecrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 05:48 AM
  #2
mschulz531
 
mschulz531's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 469
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help with rds 8000

I've got an RDS 8000 and I'm using it with the 8ch RX on a 30cc Su-26 with a DLE-30. I've got dual ailerons on channels 2 and 6, and dual elevators on 1 and 7. I'm using ch 5 for a throttle kill switch; I don't have flaps. Not sure how you would handle flaps and dual ailerons with this RX.

mschulz531 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 07:39 AM
  #3
otrcman
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 693
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help with rds 8000

The quick and easy way to find the answer to your question is to call the Airtronics help line. The man who will answer your call is named Jack Albrecht. Jack is a highly experienced model flyer and knows the RDS8000 inside-out. He should be able to walk you through the setup if one exists. If he doesn't have the answer on the tip of his tongue, he'll figure it out and call you back. I believe it is best to call him after noon, PST.

Jack Albrecht, Airtronics Technical Services, (800) 262 - 1178


Good luck

Dick
otrcman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 07:26 PM
  #4
unclecrash
Thread Starter
 
unclecrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 1,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help with rds 8000

Thanks Guys. I got it done but not how I was hoping. I used 1 and 6 for alierons. Then you have to put all the end points to zero so the 3 positions flaps switch is canceled out. Then I used 8 for the flaps, but I only have off or on the flaps. No three position switch for off and 2 flap settings. It will work. I also ran a y to 8 for a battery and the other I ran to channel 5 which is retracts. When I change over from fixed gear to electric retracts I will put another y on the second battery channel.
unclecrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 07:32 PM
  #5
unclecrash
Thread Starter
 
unclecrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 1,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help with rds 8000


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mschulz531

I've got an RDS 8000 and I'm using it with the 8ch RX on a 30cc Su-26 with a DLE-30. I've got dual ailerons on channels 2 and 6, and dual elevators on 1 and 7. I'm using ch 5 for a throttle kill switch; I don't have flaps. Not sure how you would handle flaps and dual ailerons with this RX.

You can run Batteries on a y with any channel. I did like you did late last night I already had the elevators hooked to 1 and 7 Then I read the book and did the elevons or ailerons on 2 and 6 and set end points to zero so the 3 position switch didn't mess with the ailerons.
unclecrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:02 AM.