Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1
    sparky4lawndart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    SD10G servo saver???

    Is there a function on the SD10G that will allow me to bind a receiver and prevent the servos from killing themselves?

    I moved a 10channel rcvr to a new plane and when I bound the receiver to the radio two servos went to their extremes and killed themselves (stripped two Hitec 225's).

    thanks
    President of the not so scale, almost ready to fly, soon to be scrap, warbird brotherhood
    Member of the Scale Squadron of Southern California
    Spitfire Brotherhood - Member #202
    P-47 Brotherhood - Member #105
    Frank Migliaccio
    949-636-5666

  2. #2
    MikeRuth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Tarzana, CA
    Posts
    409
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SD10G servo saver???

    Hi Sparky, bummer deal , but I'm going to say without knowing all the details this is not a radio problem per se. It's user error, take that gently please

    As I said I don't know the history, but when putting in a new RX into another ship and having the servo's connected to there surfaces we take a chance.

    A servo saver is usually reserved for an RC car steering servo so they don't get broken in crashes. There not typicaly used on an aircraft.

    In this case with what you have said, I would have...

    1 started with a clean slate on the TX.
    2. Bound it to the TX no soervo's attached.
    3. removed all of the servo arms and then connected them to the RX.
    4. Verified the direction of travel for each servo, adjusted as needed
    5.reconnected the arms and carefully moved the servo's checking for binding and EPA, Hi/Low limit adjustments.

    fortunetly all you need are a couple gear sets.

    I've seen this happen to other flyers that got a used plane and put there RX in and or just bound up to the RX installed.

    Mike R

    BTW do you know about the SD-10G thread on RC Groups? it's here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...29192&page=295






  3. #3
    Thud_Driver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Victorville, CA,
    Posts
    1,427
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SD10G servo saver???



    Two things to note:



    1.* The 10 ch Rx doesn't output a signal to the servos until it links to the Tx.* Don't know if this means anything with Hitec 225's.



    2.* The FHSS-3 system (10 Ch)*and analog servos do not always mix well.* Possible source of problem. Personally, I've had no luck with Hitec analogs and FHSS-3.


  4. #4
    MikeRuth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Tarzana, CA
    Posts
    409
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SD10G servo saver???

    +1 to Thud driver on those two points.

    Mike R

  5. #5
    sparky4lawndart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    Posts
    318
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SD10G servo saver???

    thanks, guys...

    I know I should have been more careful... I was just wondering if there was a cool center-everything-switch... I've tried the servo monitor.. but that wouldn't help.. what's the deal with analog servos? will they fail or function abnormally? I thought it was just a resolution issue.
    President of the not so scale, almost ready to fly, soon to be scrap, warbird brotherhood
    Member of the Scale Squadron of Southern California
    Spitfire Brotherhood - Member #202
    P-47 Brotherhood - Member #105
    Frank Migliaccio
    949-636-5666

  6. #6
    MikeRuth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Tarzana, CA
    Posts
    409
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SD10G servo saver???

    The deal is the FHSS3 RX's use the faster frame rate that the system is capable of. Anolog servo's do not always interput the data correctly from the fast rate.

    It's a hit and miss issue, I had a cularis that I upgraded to a SD-10G and FHSS3 RX initally I thought I was ok but after a minute or so the servo's started going wild. If you want to use analogs then you absolutely have to ground test them for several minutes to assure you will not have a problem and even thne there coould be an issue later on.

    When stepping up to the SD-10G and FHSS3 rx you really need to step up the servo's as well to digital.

    In my case I back tracked to a FHSS1 8 ch RX and continued on with my Analog servo's. let me tell you this is a solid combonation. Range is not an issue. I gaurantee flying under visual line of site you will loose sight before you will loose signal.


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nolensville, TN
    Posts
    460
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SD10G servo saver???

    A simple trick when switching over is to write down EPAs if youhave a radio setup, then lower them to like 25% each way and then increase until you get what is needed, trying to get to 125% or better to avoid stutter stepping that can occur at low EPA numbers.

    Whit.

    PS, I learned this step the hard way with a set of Hitec digitals on flaps... I let the smoke out! 

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Park, MD
    Posts
    665
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: SD10G servo saver???

    Airtronics FHSS-3 ASC Rx for analog servos. Check it out:

    http://www.airtronics.net/index.php/...ervo-comp.html


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.