Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 13 of 13

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lahaina, HI
    Posts
    1,535
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    10G w/10 channel Rx...RCXEL kill switch...problem

    Hi,
    I've a 10 channel Rx installed into a gas F6F and unable to get the RCEXL kill switch to work. I've set limits to 100% and I've the light to show when unit is on and light to go off, when unit is set to the engine kill position. I've tried everything I can think of...but the engine kill unit will not function at all.

    Is there a problem with the RCEXL kill switch, interfacing with Airtronics equipment ?

    Any help will be appreciated.

    Soft Landings Always,
    Bobby of Maui
    AMA 15016
    Hellcat Brotherhood #21
    P-38 Brotherhood #51
    Say what you mean, mean what you say...and !#$& it if you can\'\'t take a joke.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Park, MD
    Posts
    665
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Paris View Post
    Hi,
    I've a 10 channel Rx installed into a gas F6F and unable to get the RCEXL kill switch to work. I've set limits to 100% and I've the light to show when unit is on and light to go off, when unit is set to the engine kill position. I've tried everything I can think of...but the engine kill unit will not function at all.

    Is there a problem with the RCEXL kill switch, interfacing with Airtronics equipment ?

    Any help will be appreciated.

    Soft Landings Always,
    Bobby of Maui
    I don't have any problems with my RCEXL kill switch on FH3. Did you set both limits to 100%? One should be at -100% the other on 100%. Check your SX MONITOR.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lahaina, HI
    Posts
    1,535
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hay Pippin,
    Thanks for the tip. I'll check my Tx and see what I have set it at on that channel. Right now my Tx is with Airtronics, getting it updated and a second rotating switch added.
    Soft Landings Always,
    Bobby of Maui
    AMA 15016
    Hellcat Brotherhood #21
    P-38 Brotherhood #51
    Say what you mean, mean what you say...and !#$& it if you can\'\'t take a joke.

  4. #4
    raptureboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kempton, Pa PA
    Posts
    1,934
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I've had a similer problem with my RDS 8000 and the 8 channel FHSS1 receiver. It would keep turning off and rebooting all the time, and I tried everything to solve it. Finnally had to get a new kill switch to solve it, I have 5 of these switchs and it was the first one to give me trouble.
    If what you believed to be true was false would you want to know the truth?

    "You shall know the truth, and the truth will set you free".

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lahaina, HI
    Posts
    1,535
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Ok Guys,
    I still have an issue with the RCxl kill switch not working. I'm using a 10 channel Rx in my model.

    I've set the RCxl kill switch into channel 8 on my Rx, and set up on my Tx on switch #28. The light goes on to indicate the engine is in run mode and the light goes off on my RCxl to indicate the engine is in the off or not run position.



    I've set it at -100 & +100 per everyone's instructions...and my engine will not run with the light on or off. It should run with the light on, but does not fire up at all.

    What am I doing wrong? Or do I have a bad RCxl kill switch?

    Ok you Airtronic radio gurus...what's happening !

    Soft Landings Always,
    Bobby of Maui
    AMA 15016
    Hellcat Brotherhood #21
    P-38 Brotherhood #51
    Say what you mean, mean what you say...and !#$& it if you can\'\'t take a joke.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    College Park, MD
    Posts
    665
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    If the light goes on and off, there is nothing wrong with your Tx.

    Something is wrong with your kill switch and/or ignitions system.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Well I have nearly the same issue with my 10ch.

    I have my electric start system set up working fine on my 8-ch and decided to change my RX over to 10-ch and now I cant get it working.
    I set up a dummy channel using the 8-ch and that still works fine.
    I should be AUX-3 L-100% and AUX-3 H100% .

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I just used another 8-ch to test my starter and it worked fine.
    I'm not able to operate my electric starter on my 10-ch RX. I tried channels 8, 9,and 10 no luck.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lahaina, HI
    Posts
    1,535
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hi Guys,
    I made sure I had a minimum of 100% set on the limits for that channel. I found that unless this was set properly, nothing would work for me. I also found that to get the RcExl switch to work...you must have it set on the battery side of the system...not the pickup side of the iginition. I had mine set up wrong, and once I had the switch set into the battery side of the ignition system, it worked perfectly.

    I come from my ignition battery, to the on/off switch on my model, then a "Y" connector with one side going to the digital battery voltage meter, and the other side of the "Y" connector to the RcExl switch, then out from there to my battery connection on my ignition box for the gas engine.


    Soft Landings Always,
    Bobby of Maui
    AMA 15016
    Hellcat Brotherhood #21
    P-38 Brotherhood #51
    Say what you mean, mean what you say...and !#$& it if you can\'\'t take a joke.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I'm using a electronic relay for my electric starter. It works fine on my 8 channels.
    It could be the signal as the book said some analog servos may not work on the 10ch an when I plugged a cheap 3003 servo I noticed some chatter.
    I have 2 new 8-channels and the starter works fine on those just not on the 10ch.
    so now I either cant use my remote starter or remove my nav lights and run with the 8 channel.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Well I looked in the book on page 7 at the bottom a note says that the 10ch has a higher frame rate than the 8-ch and that analog servos may not work correctly.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lahaina, HI
    Posts
    1,535
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Hay Cap21r,
    Yes the 10 channel receiver is a -3 receiver. Your -1 receivers (8 channel and those with less channels) will work just fine with your 10 channel Tx, if you program for it. I am using a -3, 10 channel receiver with my 10G Tx, and using HD1501MG servo's with out any problems. It all depends on the make of servo or system your going to use with your -3, 10 channel Rx. Some may work and some may not work. So far all my Airtronics servo's seem to work ok with my -3 Rx. I'm using 94102 and 94322's with my -3 Rx's with out a problem. I've no idea how you set up your 10G Tx and I must also admit, I'm no expert with the 10G Tx...not even close. Call Airtronics and see if one of their experts can assist you in getting what you need.

    Aloha and Merry Christmas,
    Bob Paris
    AMA 15016
    Hellcat Brotherhood #21
    P-38 Brotherhood #51
    Say what you mean, mean what you say...and !#$& it if you can\'\'t take a joke.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Thanks
    its the frame rate on the 10-ch that's the issue.
    Below comments from Airtronics.
    Hello,

    The FHSS-3 receivers use a higher frame rate and some items may not be able to handle it. If the channel works fine with a servo, your electric start system probably can't handle the higher frame rate.

    -Farrell
    Airtronics Service
    18480 Bandilier Cir
    Fountain Valley CA 92708
    714-964-0827 ext 327


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.