Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > AMA Discussions
Reload this Page >

Fear mongering? AMA members with airman certificates?

Community
Search
Notices
AMA Discussions Discuss AMA policies, decisions & any other AMA related topics here.

Fear mongering? AMA members with airman certificates?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2014, 04:17 PM
gpoore
My Feedback: (45)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am currently an EMS rotor pilot, I hold an ATP RW and FW PVT SEL

I assure you, if an inspector wanted to warrant a complaint along 91.13 against a rated pilot for reckless or careless UAV/RC/drone operations, he could. And, if you don't think its possible, then operate at will.

I am always leery of the FAA when I am flying RC. While I would never give any credence to it, I wouldn't put it past some FAA inspectors. To most, it is about their power and using it!

Only a matter of time before a rated pilot is made an example of.

Wouldn't surprise me at all if in the future an airmans certificate will be required to operate RC aircraft. Silly I know, but it is coming, at least for commercial ops of drone and UAV. We will see if the AMA has enough grit to protect the hobbyist.
Old 09-27-2014, 04:39 PM
FliteMetal

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Where were you people when this information needed to be spread through out the AMA club population,
the ones who considered this someone else's job to stand up and fight for. Did everyone here write in and
profess your position on the multiple issues which accompanied the FAA open forum for public response?

I didn't ask to see a posted reply. I merely point to the opportunity for this apparent energy to be placed
where it would do the most good.

None of this has anything to do with previous aviation law precedence. It has everything to do with the UAV
industry's deep pockets to shut us up and push us aside since we do not have the stomach or guts to do
our own due diligence and stand up for our interests.