Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > AMA Discussions
Reload this Page >

Fear mongering? AMA members with airman certificates?

Community
Search
Notices
AMA Discussions Discuss AMA policies, decisions & any other AMA related topics here.

Fear mongering? AMA members with airman certificates?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2014, 09:52 AM
phlpsfrnk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hoss,
Thank you for the kind words. My major issue is that I think it is the AMA that should be providing this type of education to the membership and not me on some internet forum. The AMA leadership needs to work within the system to affect change, not challenge the system with law suits. It does not help the FAA do their job and I believe it will hurt the AMA in the long run, not to mention wasting our money.

The AMA spent our money lobbing congress for recognition and exemption from the FAA rulemaking of sUAS integration in the NAS and we got it. The FAA in turn said fine based on Section 336 here are your rules to maintain exemption status and we will not write new rules for model aircraft. I don’t know what the AMA leadership expected but I never expected them to throw up their hands and cry foul. Did they think congress gave us a pass to do anything we want anywhere we want because we are only playing with toys? Don’t get me wrong some of the interpretation needs clarification/negotiation but to challenge it in total I do not think will end well for us and I believe the AMA leadership has made a grave misstep here.

Sorry, I will now step down from the soap box.

Regards
Frank

PS All this drama is tiring, I need a nap.
Old 10-22-2014, 09:54 AM
phlpsfrnk

Originally Posted by TimJ
HHmmmmmmmmmm.......... Indeed!
Old 10-22-2014, 11:03 AM
Sport_Pilot

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by phlpsfrnk