Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > AMA Discussions
Reload this Page >

Interesting admission on AMA website

Community
Search
Notices
AMA Discussions Discuss AMA policies, decisions & any other AMA related topics here.

Interesting admission on AMA website

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2016, 09:37 AM
franklin_m

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Interesting admission on AMA website

On AMA website and as we'll see in the May issue of MA, Dave Scott may have inadvertently revealed something that starts to explain a lot of the AMA actions. And I quote from the first sentence after the last photo in the post:

".. and help stem the 15-year trend of declining club membership .."

Now I'm no rocket scientist, but declining club membership in the face of either fixed or increasing costs to maintain club flying sites, either means big hikes in club dues or more clubs folding. Think about that in the context of the 400 clubs that didn't renew memberships. Think about that in terms of clubs that are listed on AMA website but don't respond to emails etc.

This cannot be good news

http://modelaviation.com/fostering-active-clubs
Old 04-19-2016, 10:06 AM
TimJ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Overall a great article that every AMA member should ready.

Although I don't agree with the 15 year decline reference, the article asks you to promote positive reinforcement at the field.

good stuff.
Old 04-19-2016, 10:12 AM
init4fun

Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts

Originally Posted by franklin_m
On AMA website and as we'll see in the May issue of MA, Dave Scott may have inadvertently revealed something that starts to explain a lot of the AMA actions. And I quote from the first sentence after the last photo in the post: