AMA Discussions Discuss AMA policies, decisions & any other AMA related topics here.

The mentality of drone pilots.

Old 05-28-2019, 06:18 AM
60buick

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default The mentality of drone pilots.

I would like to express my observations of what I have seen going on in our hobby from the viewpoint of an old fart raising kids in the hobby with very different attitudes.

First a little about me, I have been flying RC for roughly 30 years and full sized fixed wing and helicopters for 11 years. I started with control line and have everything from small electric planes and helicopters up to a Vario Skyfox and 118" B-25. I started with FM transmitters and Cox nitro engines and now we have brushless GPS controlled FPV. I have been through the largest technological jump this hobby has seen. I learned from an experienced rc pilot using a wooden airplane that took me a month to build and a nitro engine. I also have the experience of lots of crashes which taught me responsibility.

I have a 13 year old son who is an AMA member as am I and he loves aviation and wants to work for NASA when he grows up. I bought him a Mini Apprentice and he had a successful first flight the other day. I'm teaching him in the manner that I learned. He has common sense and his biggest fear is crashing his plane. He is now a pilot in his own eyes. He has always had a love for RC and has indoor quad copters, a boat, a rock crawler and a few cars. He is vested in the hobby. We have an FPV setup and have been using it on the rock crawler, not yet trying it on an aircraft.

I also have a step son in his early 20's.