AMA Discussions Discuss AMA policies, decisions & any other AMA related topics here.

When do you just say no

Old 08-11-2007, 12:20 PM
Regent

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default When do you just say no

There has been a lot of interesting post on this forum addressing the promotion of the hobby and how AMA members/clubs should go the extra mile in order to help new flyers.

I have been flying RC for a little over 40 years and I have been an Intro Pilot ever since it’s inception. For the last 6 or 7 years I have been very active in training new pilots and I have taught 75% of my current club members how to fly.

My question to the forum is at what point do you finally give up on a new pilot and tell him that he is never going to be a good or safe pilot?

I had one old gentleman, in his late 60’s, that was on the buddy box going on three years. After he finally soloed he crashed every plane he ever owned within two to three weeks after it was purchased. He never hurt anybody but did have a lot of close calls. His problem was that he never could keep his left and right straight and when turning on final would give the wrong aileron input and roll inverted into the ground.

Right now I have two new pilots in training that are just not ever going to be safe pilots. These guys are so bad that none of the other club instructor pilots want to take them up. One pilot who has about 20 buddy box flights can’t make a simple turn without spiraling to the ground. If I tell him to pull up he is likely to push down.

At what point would it be appropriate to tell these guys that this is not something that they are going to be able to do?