Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > AMA Discussions
Reload this Page >

Airborne weaponry

Community
Search
Notices
AMA Discussions Discuss AMA policies, decisions & any other AMA related topics here.

Airborne weaponry

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2007, 07:42 PM
Sir_Benchalot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airborne weaponry

I visited the AMA's website some time ago and read that firing projectiles from planes is illegal.
Well, here is why I have brought up new this subject. I am a beginner with BIG ideas. I know I need to start small but, I recently saw a picture of a jet turban model firing two miniature missiles at approx. 1 ft. off the ground. Are there licenses reqiured for this kind of thing? Did I miss that part of information on there web site? I don't remember seeing any such exceptions.
Someone please fill me in.
Thanks

~Sir_Benchalot~
Old 10-16-2007, 08:20 PM
tail strike
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Airborne weaponry

That is definetly illegal by AMA rules, that being said you can do anything you want to do just not at an AMA sanctioned field.
That being said if you do any thing you want to IT WON'T BE LONG BEFOR YOU WON'T BE ALOWED TO FLY YOUR PLANE ANYMORE.
The goverment will step in and outlaw any remote controlled vehickles.
If we screw up it will all go away so please don't scerwup my hobby I like flying airplanes altho you might think by the noumber of chrashes
I have I just like destroying them,
Old 10-16-2007, 08:57 PM
cutaway

AMA general rule #8 prohibits this...even compressed air powered stuff. You can't "propel" anything.

You could drop light weight fake bombs since they're not "propelled".
Old 10-16-2007, 11:35 PM
ira d

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The picture you describe was on the manual that came with the comp arf kangaroo
kit, i dont know where the photo was taken but it was probably outside the USA.

As has been previously stated the AMA says you cant do it but if you are make