RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   AMA Discussions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/ama-discussions-74/)
-   -   AMA card and County card? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/ama-discussions-74/2434976-ama-card-county-card.html)

xDennis 12-15-2004 12:16 AM

AMA card and County card?

Hey Guys,
Some of you may know that I am new to Airplanes. An instructor told me before I fly I have to register with AMA , then after that I have to send a check with photocopy of AMA card to some county office so I can get a county card..Is this all true? I don't want to send off more money then I should have to. I do plan on registereing AMA and the county, but Can I fly my plane at the county park before I am registered or is it like a license of some sorts?

Thanks,
Dennis R

Jim Branaum 12-15-2004 12:25 AM

RE: AMA card and County card?

Well..yes, and no.

What he is trying to say is that the field he (and you) are flying at is owned by the county and THEY want you to prove your AMA membership. As for the cost of the county ticket, that is between you and the county.

I suspect that if you try to fly at a county park without the benefits of an AMA membership and the local county card, there may be some liability you will discover when the sherif (or representative) hands you a citation. A call to the county supervisor/commissioner's office should yield you an education.

scottrc 12-15-2004 01:18 PM

Since we fly on municipal land, I have talked to others who do the same, and some have told me that the city, county, or state will require park use permits, which require a fee. they do this with golf coarses and sports parks as well. Like was said, you may be using county land for a private activity, so they will require you to have a permit.

xDennis 12-15-2004 01:50 PM

Makes Sense,
I don't have a problem registering AMA or even locally, I just wasnt sure about the local part. Thanks for that clarification guys. :)

Dennis R