AMT Netherlands Get support for AMT Netherlands products here.

have a AMT 180 / mercury? need help turbine

Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 11:22 AM
  #1
10 speed
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ladson, SC, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default have a AMT 180 / mercury? need help turbine

a 180 need help. Im not sure if its a 180 or a mercury but it does not have the purple front. however i have 1/2 a owners manual and this is my first turbine. I have a few questions.

1) I know it can run on jet a or keroseen but if i go to jet a do i still mix it with aeroshell turbine oil 500?

2) is aeroshell turbine oil 500 the same as BP turbo oil 2380? i have the bp stuff here in town at the local airport.

3) I have bits and pieces of a manual but would like the whole thing. Ideas where i can get a complete one?

4) The aplication I plan on useing will not be RC. So I dont need a remote. but would like to controll the throtle via a riostat. but dont know what voltages i need to operate or what wires. i figured out what harness but theres 3 wires.

5) The engine came with a AMT ASU it states in the instructons that i need a 3 way switch on the ECU to operate. there is a connector but no female conector. so all i need is to know what wire goes where in the 3 way switch.

6) I am interested in a smoke effect. if i understand this correctly all i need is to pump fuel at the tail of the motor and it will vaporize it.

Be advised I have a extensive 12volt past so I understand most electronic talk.

I thank you for any assistance you may be able to offer.
Randy
10 speed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 12:11 PM
  #2
10 speed
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ladson, SC, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: have a AMT 180 / mercury? need help turbine

oh and what is my turbine oil to fuel ratio? anyone?
10 speed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 06:42 AM
  #3
Skycat66
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arnhem, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: have a AMT 180 / mercury? need help turbine

Hi Randy,
Please find here the answers:
1) I know it can run on jet a or keroseen but if i go to jet a do i still mix it with aeroshell turbine oil 500?
Yes, jet or keroseen needs oil. Please mix as stated in the manual.
2) is aeroshell turbine oil 500 the same as BP turbo oil 2380? i have the bp stuff here in town at the local airport.
Yes, both have the same MIL. specification.
3) I have bits and pieces of a manual but would like the whole thing. Ideas where i can get a complete one?
Hereby the link to our manual: http://www.amtjets.com/pdf/AMT%20Mercury%20HP%20manual%20scan.pdf
4) The aplication I plan on useing will not be RC. So I dont need a remote. but would like to controll the throtle via a riostat. but dont know what voltages i need to operate or what wires. i figured out what harness but theres 3 wires.
-The ECU is design to use RC-pulses. These pulse are 1...2ms long with a repeat time of 20ms. Please use a RC-pulse generator which can be bought on the net or schematics can also be found on the net.
5) The engine came with a AMT ASU it states in the instructons that i need a 3 way switch on the ECU to operate. there is a connector but no female conector. so all i need is to know what wire goes where in the 3 way switch.
As described in point 4 the ECU uses two inputs for control. One channel is for the operating switch which has three positions. Another channel is used for throttle control. Please see manual.
6) I am interested in a smoke effect. if i understand this correctly all i need is to pump fuel at the tail of the motor and it will vaporize it.
-Hereby a possible solution for smoke. http://www.amtjets.com/pdf/1%20valve%20smoke%20system%20using%20P2.pdf
Please beware if the nozzle is too near the exhaust the vaporized fuel will ignite. PLEASE BE CAREFUL !!!!!
Skycat66 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 06:36 AM
  #4
10 speed
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ladson, SC, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: have a AMT 180 / mercury? need help turbine

the manual was a big help. i guess there is no way to install a throtle or 3 way switch with out a remote huh?
10 speed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 06:54 AM
  #5
10 speed
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ladson, SC, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: have a AMT 180 / mercury? need help turbine

looking for something like what this guy is using.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1oSo03pl1g
10 speed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 10:50 PM
  #6
10 speed
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ladson, SC, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: have a AMT 180 / mercury? need help turbine

all electronics found
10 speed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:33 PM.