Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    305
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

    Hi,

    I just bought an AMT EDT off of RC Groups...unfortunately it came in bad shape and with no battery....the battery plug looks like a standard 9v battery. Can anyone confirm this? I didn't want to hook up a 9v and mess it up!

    Also looking for the manual for the EDT if anyone has one...

    Thx, Brian

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Arnhem, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

    Hi,

    Yes, it's a standard 9V block battery if there is space, cut out of PCB, under the LCD .

    Regards,

    Ray
    AMT Netherlands
    Electronic Designer
    Cheers,

    Ray Struik
    AMT Netherlands
    Electronic Control Designer

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pierantonio Umbertide, ITALY
    Posts
    67
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

    hi Brian............. can I use 2s lipo battery???

  4. #4
    Dr Honda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Latrobe, PA
    Posts
    2,090
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

    wouldn't. There is no protection in the electronics to keep the LiPo from over draining. Also, as I recall... there is an internal charging circuit for the 9v, and that could cause a fire with the LiPo.
    Tony

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    305
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

    Thx...got it working!

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pierantonio Umbertide, ITALY
    Posts
    67
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

    Hi guys...... only 1 question.......... I'd like to use an external 2s 400mha lipo battery for EDT, does it work??

  7. #7
    LGM Graphix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    4,761
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?


    ORIGINAL: GIOMBO

    Hi guys...... only 1 question.......... I'd like to use an external 2s 400mha lipo battery for EDT, does it work??

    That question was already answered in this thread. Ray said No, there is no circuit to provide over draining the battery, also, the EDT allows charging the battery through the EDT, but that's based on a 9V battery. The 9V batteries last for years in the EDT, why complicate what works?
    remember when people actually BUILT their airplanes?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.