AMT Netherlands Get support for AMT Netherlands products here.

What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Reply
Old 04-14-2012, 11:28 AM
  #1
txshan130
Thread Starter
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Hi,

I just bought an AMT EDT off of RC Groups...unfortunately it came in bad shape and with no battery....the battery plug looks like a standard 9v battery. Can anyone confirm this? I didn't want to hook up a 9v and mess it up!

Also looking for the manual for the EDT if anyone has one...

Thx, Brian
txshan130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:57 AM
  #2
Skycat66
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arnhem, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Hi,

Yes, it's a standard 9V block battery if there is space, cut out of PCB, under the LCD .

Regards,

Ray
AMT Netherlands
Electronic Designer
Skycat66 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:55 PM
  #3
GIOMBO
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pierantonio Umbertide, ITALY
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

hi Brian............. can I use 2s lipo battery???
GIOMBO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 03:23 PM
  #4
Dr Honda
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

wouldn't. There is no protection in the electronics to keep the LiPo from over draining. Also, as I recall... there is an internal charging circuit for the 9v, and that could cause a fire with the LiPo.
Dr Honda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 03:13 PM
  #5
txshan130
Thread Starter
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Thx...got it working!
txshan130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 03:27 PM
  #6
GIOMBO
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pierantonio Umbertide, ITALY
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Hi guys...... only 1 question.......... I'd like to use an external 2s 400mha lipo battery for EDT, does it work??
GIOMBO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:42 AM
  #7
LGM Graphix
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: GIOMBO

Hi guys...... only 1 question.......... I'd like to use an external 2s 400mha lipo battery for EDT, does it work??

That question was already answered in this thread. Ray said No, there is no circuit to provide over draining the battery, also, the EDT allows charging the battery through the EDT, but that's based on a 9V battery. The 9V batteries last for years in the EDT, why complicate what works?
LGM Graphix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:34 PM.