Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oshawa, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    38
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    pegasus air start

    Hello there,
    I have a pegasus air start with a Futaba 10C transmitter. I can get the ECU to beep 3 times with ch 7 switch (low to high pitch) but I can't figure out the settings for the trim to get the ECU to go into start mode.
    When I move the trim, I get 1 beep (medium) just below 1/2 way then nothing else.
    When I leave the trim all the way down, I get 3 beeps, Low tone to high tone. Is this the ecu going into start mode? Can I now start the turbine with the throttle at max , not using the trim??
    Is there a special way to set the trims on this radio.
    Just to mention, this radio has electronic trims, not mechanical.

    Sorry if these questions seem dumb, but I had a Jetcat P80 auto start with no starting issues before, this is my first air start and first AMT.
    f20tiger

    Life is a one lap race, never lift.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oshawa, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    38
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I found out I don't need to use the trim because I have a 3 position switch programmed. Can someone tell me once the ECU has pick up the TX pulse width, what position does the throttle need to be in to engage start mode on the ECU?????
    f20tiger

    Life is a one lap race, never lift.

  3. #3
    LGM Graphix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    4,782
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    If I remember correctly it is just trim up and throttle at idle. I use an asu with my air start pegasus now and don't remember 100% but I do still have a manual so I'll try to remember to check that tomorrow.
    remember when people actually BUILT their airplanes?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oshawa, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    38
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I don't have to use the trim as I am using 2 channel operation. So with my 3 position switch in run, I leave the throttle at idle and it will start???
    Or do I still have to put the trim at up??

    Any chance you could scan the pages of the manual for start procedures and email it to me??
    f20tiger

    Life is a one lap race, never lift.

  5. #5
    weasel33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Morecambe, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    858
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    scanned pages

    Hope these help
    brian
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pegasus-1.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	827.4 KB 
ID:	1926293   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pegasus-2.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	769.0 KB 
ID:	1926294   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pegasus-3.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	985.8 KB 
ID:	1926296   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pegasus-4.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	665.6 KB 
ID:	1926297   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pegasus-5.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	827.7 KB 
ID:	1926298  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pegasus-6.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	455.2 KB 
ID:	1926299  

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oshawa, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    38
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    That helped a ton. Thanks.
    She is running like an AMT Pegasus. LOL
    f20tiger

    Life is a one lap race, never lift.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oshawa, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    38
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Could someone post the page from the pegasus manual on intake minimum diameter, pipe minimum diameter and distance to the pipe from the nozzle of the turbine???
    f20tiger

    Life is a one lap race, never lift.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    adelaide, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Quote Originally Posted by f20tiger View Post
    Could someone post the page from the pegasus manual on intake minimum diameter, pipe minimum diameter and distance to the pipe from the nozzle of the turbine???

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Scanned Document.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	681.8 KB 
ID:	1943846hope this is what you wanted,
    regards
    jimaust

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oshawa, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    38
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    That is absolutely perfect. Thank you
    f20tiger

    Life is a one lap race, never lift.

  10. #10
    weasel33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Morecambe, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    858
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Though it states 15mm as the optimum gap between the pipe and the turbine
    i found that 19mm is better.
    included a picture of the intakeClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	807.3 KB 
ID:	1943955 brian

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oshawa, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    38
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Thank you for the info.
    f20tiger

    Life is a one lap race, never lift.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.